California Jalapeno Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Absolutely excellent. I used only 1 fish (19" Dollie, so technically a char I guess), so mixed the ingredients in a lower quantity, but the result was fantastic. I've known for years how great mango goes with fish, but the jalapenos gave it the perfect kick I've been missing with the other trout I cooked. The charcoal flavor was there, but not overbearing, and another bonus is the skin sticks to the foil so it pulls right off. Overall it lacked nothing. I will definitely be using this recipe for future fish fries. Thank-you very much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Great recipe! Used rainbow trout caught ice fishing, but didn't have access to fresh mango, so I used canned pineapple instead and the result was fantastic. Hope to try mango the next time. Served with wild rice. My boyfriend and I are avid fishermen but he loves to eat fish and I am learning to like it. This recipe was enjoyed by both of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dakota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Very tastey - the fish was tender and delicious and the compote was equally as good. No doubt this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dino
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Made this with Brook trout I caught in Canada. It was fantastic. My wife said it was the best fish she has ever had. The Jalapeno added just enough heat and the mango did not make it taste too sweet. I served it with garlic cream sauced Fettuccini with fresh spinach. Great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I also made this with trout filets. It was ok but not great - too many flavors and textures going on. The fish was very thin and cooked quickly, way more quickly than the veggies. Nice for a change but I wouldn't make it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I didn't realize that this dish called for whole trout or a grill, so I spread the pepper/mango mixture over filets, wrapped them in aluminum foil and broiled them. It turned out well, though the cilantro got really mushy and tasted like canned spinach. Perhaps next time I'll wait until the fish is halfway cooked before putting the pepper/mango mixture on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Great Recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. Used Ruby Trout. Forgot to add the jalapenos, but luckily had some jalapeno hotsauce and added it at the end. Made some roasted corn and one of those Lipton Thai Noodles with it. It was great. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was fantastic! I just found a new favorite fish recipe. I used vidalia onion instead of the green ones. When I make it again, I'll use more mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States