California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Delicious! I was looking for something to make using ground beef because I was sick of hamburgers. What a great recipe! Used canned chicken broth so don't add any salt. Next time, I think I will add some garlic. I cannot imagine not having garlic in an Italian dish so I will include that as well. Added fresh ground black pepper too. When serving, I added shredded parmesan cheese as well as a generous squeezing of fresh lemon juice. This was very simple to prepare and looked like something very hard to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was outstanding. The basil flavour made the meatballs extra-special. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I have been making this recipe for about 4 years now and consider it the best version of wedding soup I have ever tasted. I make a double batch of meatballs from ground sirloin, then bake them at 350 for about 12-15 minutes to get rid of the grease. I then freeze half of them for another day. Definitely use the fresh basil and onion in the meatballs, and the lemon zest in the soup. They are what set this recipe apart from the usual salty wedding soups. It also helps to use homemade or organic chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I added 2 cups of water to the broth to tone it down and boiled the meatballs a little longer to pick up their flavour instead. It turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Wow! I have never rated a recipe before, but I randomly came across this one and thought the ingredients sounded good. While it was cooking, my husband turned up his nose, and questioned where I got the idea from. When I served it, he coldn't stop raving, and not a drop was left. It is luscious, delectable and definitely one our new comfort foods! Don't hesitate, make it today. I would have given it six stars if it had been an option! (PS I used the spinach instead of the escarole, and we served it with a generous splash of lemon juice on each bowl)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is excellent soup!! Didn't have chicken broth SO used beef broth and still turned out Excellent!!! Added afew drops of lemon juice and some grated carrot- which I have had in previous soups. Thanks~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This was a very refreshing soup. The lemon zest was perfect and the meatballs were wonderful. Make them small, so you get one in each spoonful of broth. Thank you, for this recipe I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Awesome recipe! I've made all sorts of minor alterations depending on what I have on hand. It's great for a light dinner. The lemon adds a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This soup was excellent! I've never had Italian Wedding Soup anywhere but Atlanta Bread Co., so I was excited to see this recipe. It was extremely easy to make - the only time consuming part being rolling the meatballs. As per other's suggestions, I also recommend making the meatballs as small as you can roll them and have them stay together. This recipe served 4 without ANY left-overs, so adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Great recipe. I use spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States