California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Awesome! Thanks! Just for interest sake, we found out (accidentally), that if you double the pasta and let it sit for while, it will turn into a caserole! It seems better as a soup. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was really good and even my picky kids ate it without a fuss. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I added pepper & lemon juice to this and I think it really helped. I used bouillon instead of chicken broth and I think that was a BAD idea! I'll try again with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used ground turkey, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The fresh herbs really makes the dish! I'll be making this soup over and over... YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Tasty! I didn't have lean beef so I boiled my meatballs in a separate pot of water for about two minutes, drained them, then added them to the broth. That removed a lot of grease that I'm glad didn't end up in my soup. I also added a little fresh oregano and some fennel seeds to the meatballs. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is another keeper! I added a shredded carrot to give it more color. A good tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Wow this was really great. I was able to find ground italian sausage near the store prepared meats and used that instead of ground beef. formed small meatballs and baked until brown in the oven so that they do not come out gray as some other users suggested. I also found and used acini de pepe instead of orzo as other users suggested and spinach instead of escarole. Next time I may use 6 cans of chicken broth (I used 33% less sodium broth) instead of 4. That way I will have more broth to noodles and it will also cut the lemon flavor just a little bit. I also added two chopped green onions, a teaspoon of ground pepper, a teaspoon of chopped basil, and about 1/4 c of matchstick carrots at the beginning of the boiling process. This was really great. I couldn't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I used(frozen)spinach instead of the escarole and found the lemon zest just enough to make it not too spinachy! YUMMY !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lumberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This soup was excellent! I used the ground turkey method that some others suggested. The lemon zest was right on the money, also used the juice in the soup. So easy also, will make again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was really tasty, I did use homemade chicken broth and fresh basil... yummy! I also used acini di pepe, if you plan on using this pasta I suggest using less than what the recipe calls for. I only had canned spinach on hand and it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States