California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Easy and flavorful. I used spinach instead of the other. A nice change from chicken noodle on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
more flavorful than other IWS recipes I have tried, but the liquid (broth) definately needs to be upped in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
EXCELLENT! I used the small frozen Costo Meatballs and they worked absolutely perfect. Make sure you don't leave out the lemon zest as this is really what makes this soup unique. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Awesome! Thanks! Just for interest sake, we found out (accidentally), that if you double the pasta and let it sit for while, it will turn into a caserole! It seems better as a soup. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was really good and even my picky kids ate it without a fuss. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I added pepper & lemon juice to this and I think it really helped. I used bouillon instead of chicken broth and I think that was a BAD idea! I'll try again with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used ground turkey, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The fresh herbs really makes the dish! I'll be making this soup over and over... YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Tasty! I didn't have lean beef so I boiled my meatballs in a separate pot of water for about two minutes, drained them, then added them to the broth. That removed a lot of grease that I'm glad didn't end up in my soup. I also added a little fresh oregano and some fennel seeds to the meatballs. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is another keeper! I added a shredded carrot to give it more color. A good tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Wow this was really great. I was able to find ground italian sausage near the store prepared meats and used that instead of ground beef. formed small meatballs and baked until brown in the oven so that they do not come out gray as some other users suggested. I also found and used acini de pepe instead of orzo as other users suggested and spinach instead of escarole. Next time I may use 6 cans of chicken broth (I used 33% less sodium broth) instead of 4. That way I will have more broth to noodles and it will also cut the lemon flavor just a little bit. I also added two chopped green onions, a teaspoon of ground pepper, a teaspoon of chopped basil, and about 1/4 c of matchstick carrots at the beginning of the boiling process. This was really great. I couldn't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States