California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I felt this had to be "doctored-up" quite a bit. Maybe my store bought canned broth wasn't as flavorful as some. ?? I am not sure. The ground beef and parmesan, etc. was not as good as wedding soups that I have made with Italian sausage. And, the broth flavor was just chicken broth, with no depth of any other flavor. I added chopped carrots, chicken boullion, lots of fresh black pepper, the juice of the lemon I zested, a cup of cream and then liked it much better but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was a very good soup, I was surprised how light and flavorful it was. The fresh lemon zest really made it outstanding. I think it is important to take the time to roll the meatballs really tiny to make the soup easy to eat. I also omitted the pasta and largely increased the amount of spinach to keep the calories down. This was filling, and kept in the refrigerator really well. I didn't give this 5 stars because I didn't think it was "craveable". I made it a couple of weeks ago and by the time the pot was empty I was done with it, and I haven't wanted it since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This soup was very good! Everyone in my family loved it. I don't remake things too often (I either get sick of it or the recipes isn't that good). This recipe is a keeper and I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I don't know how to zest without a zester, so I just served a lemon wedge with each bowl. Overall, a nice recipe! Using fresh herbs was definately the way to make these meatballs. I used the advice of another reviewer and cooked the meatballs in the oven first to drain fat. Next time I'll make extra to freeze! It only got four stars because of the prep it takes to do fresh herbs and roll meatballs. I also have to grind my own breadcrumbs, so it took quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was wonderful and so easy to make! I am already looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
excellent flavor. easy to make. everyone loved it. wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I thought this was delicious. I didnt have the noodles it called for but I had pastina(the littlestar shaped pasta) it came out great!! I loved it very much, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmaline Cecile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brimfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was good, but it certainly needs lots more broth and for my liking needs more pasta. I may cut back a little on meatballs next time as well. I did use fresh basil which is necessary. The only spinach I had was frozen and it worked great. I would also highly recommend to use sausage instead of hamburger. I used 1/2 Bob Evans Italian and 1/2 regular. Wonderful tasting meat!! I will definately make this again, but w/ these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was fabulous, reminded me of my Italian routes! I couldn't find the traditional pasta, so I used orzo. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!!! I use ground turkey instead of beef. But other than that I don't make any changes. It is fantastic! Thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytoallgirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States