California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
The meatballs are excellent with the fresh basil but after the soup was finished, even with the wonderful addition of the lemon zest, I felt the flavor was somewhat flat. I do use a low sodium chicken broth, so perhaps that made a difference. After spiking the soup with a bit of Penzey’s chicken soup base and adding some cooked carrots for both flavor and presentation, the end result was a soup we really enjoyed. It was even better the day after it was made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
We loved this i change it up a lil i had meatballs in freezer so i used them and then i also used Acini Di Pepe noddles instead it was really good! made so much that i took some to my parents and they loved it very good recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I was looking for a new healthy meal and found this. The only thing I altered was replacing the ground beef with ground turkey breast. I also didn't have a whole lemon the second time around so I just used a couple teaspoons of lemon juice and it worked just as well. It's now my new favorite and leftovers last me all week for lunch! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
So easy and what a great taste. I added more Parm and orzo. The family loved it!! They want me to make it at least once a week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is really, really good and easy to make. Definately use the fresh basil, parsley and lemon as described. Great as leftovers in lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I felt this had to be "doctored-up" quite a bit. Maybe my store bought canned broth wasn't as flavorful as some. ?? I am not sure. The ground beef and parmesan, etc. was not as good as wedding soups that I have made with Italian sausage. And, the broth flavor was just chicken broth, with no depth of any other flavor. I added chopped carrots, chicken boullion, lots of fresh black pepper, the juice of the lemon I zested, a cup of cream and then liked it much better but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was a very good soup, I was surprised how light and flavorful it was. The fresh lemon zest really made it outstanding. I think it is important to take the time to roll the meatballs really tiny to make the soup easy to eat. I also omitted the pasta and largely increased the amount of spinach to keep the calories down. This was filling, and kept in the refrigerator really well. I didn't give this 5 stars because I didn't think it was "craveable". I made it a couple of weeks ago and by the time the pot was empty I was done with it, and I haven't wanted it since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This soup was very good! Everyone in my family loved it. I don't remake things too often (I either get sick of it or the recipes isn't that good). This recipe is a keeper and I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I don't know how to zest without a zester, so I just served a lemon wedge with each bowl. Overall, a nice recipe! Using fresh herbs was definately the way to make these meatballs. I used the advice of another reviewer and cooked the meatballs in the oven first to drain fat. Next time I'll make extra to freeze! It only got four stars because of the prep it takes to do fresh herbs and roll meatballs. I also have to grind my own breadcrumbs, so it took quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was wonderful and so easy to make! I am already looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States