California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I modified this quite a bit to accommodate food allergies (beef, pork, wheat, egg, onion, milk): Meatballs made from Jennie-O sweet Italian turkey sausage links (unbound, rolled without adding crumbs/eggs into small balls), extra torn baby spinach, brown rice instead of pasta, added pinto beans (didn’t have white cannelloni beans, as suggested by other recipes)., no cheese, dried Italian spice blend in lieu of fresh herbs. It turned out great – the hit of the pot luck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Beautiful, healthy soup. Super easy. I substituted ingredients on hand: spinach instead of escarole; cooked, chopped sausage and turkey instead of meatballs. Because I wasn't making meatballs, I added chopped fresh basil and parsley as well. Took another reviewer's suggestion and topped each bowl with a teaspoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is great! I love how the broth soaks up the flavor from the meatballs as they cook! I wanted something between italian wedding soup, a traditional pasta dish and stew so I changed it a bit to suit my mood, so here is my version. 2 cups of water quart of canned tomatoes enough bouillon for the 5 3/4 cups of broth - Start boiling immediately so liquids have time to reduce. Make your meatballs to suit yourself. And drop 'em in as suggested in the original recipe. - I added extra noodles, about 1 cup (used broken up linguine cause I didn't have orzo) - I also added a few cloves of garlic and extra spinach, cause I love garlic... And spinach! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I really liked the addition of lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I loved this! I made a few changes, but it was great. I am a vegetarian so I used one bag of Quorn "meatballs" instead of making my own. I also used a vegetable stock instead of chicken. The stock is very low sodium (45mg), so I added a little salt and pepper as well. Lastly, I don't really like lemon so I only used half, and it was actually a great addition. I put the green onion right in the broth, since I wasn't making my own meatballs. This soup was light and had tons of flavor without the salt. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made this recipe to a 't' with the exception of swapping out basil for lovage and thyme (what I had in my garden) and using slightly less chicken stock. I had to add a lot more liquid to the stock and ended up with a plain broth and relatively tasty meatballs. If I made this again I would have to add herbs and possibly veggies (carrots, potatoes, celery). Thank you for sharing this recipe, I'm sorry I didn't like it more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newby3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is not your ordinary Italian Wedding Soup recipe; the addition of lemon zest makes this extraordinary. Reminds me a bit of a soup made in Greece using meatballs and orzo and lemon. The only addition I recommend is cannelini beans. I cook them up in the pressure cooker and add, but you could easily drain and add the canned variety. Gives added taste and health bonus. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Really wonderful. My husband had three bowls! But I should say, inspired by some of the other tips, I did play with the recipe quite a bit. I have a hard time serving any freshmade soup that hasn't simmered at least a couple of hours. To start, I made the meatballs exactly as directed. And they were wonderful. After I'd rolled the meatballs into marble sized portions and put them back in the refrigerator to chill, I sauteed 2 chopped carrots, 1 chopped zucchini, and half an onion in a lemon/olive oil til all were soft and fragrant. Only then did I add four cans of chicken broth, one can of beef broth, a healthy teaspoon of italian seasoning, and finally chucked in the meatballs. I let it come to a boil, (waiting for the meatballs to rise to the top, the "done" signal) and then turned down to low to simmer for about 2 hours. About 20 minutes before service, I cooked the pasta al dente separately. About five minutes before service, I added the pasta into the simmering broth, as well as the lemon zest and chopped spinach. The spinach didn't wilt overmuch that way, and retained its bright green color. I served this with a loaf of hot bread out of the oven, a baby greens salad with strawberries, red onion and pecans, and a bottle of sauvignon blanc. A genuine hit! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States