California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is a nice soup for a light meal, I liked the addition of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Excellent and light...I used 8c of fat free reduced sodium chicken broth and also made my meatballs out of extra lean ground chicken, used fresh baby spinach and also added a shredded carrot. Loved the scallions and lemon flavor in this soup. I did add the orzo after I cooked it as not to make the soup starchy. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I thought this was just ok at first, but boy does this get so much better the next day! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
The original recipe is a very nice base, but I found it just slightly bland so I made some additions. First of all, I made a double-batch because I had a whole pound of beef to use. I also used spinach for the escarole, and used a whole 9oz package instead of just 4 cups; I added it whole rather than slicing it. I added 1/2 tsp of granulated garlic to the meatball mixture. I also made some additions to the broth: I first lightly sauteed 1/2 a white onion, thinly sliced, and 4 cloves of minced garlic in 1/4 cup white wine and 1/2 tbsp olive oil, and added 1/2 tsp dried parsley, 1/2 tsp dried basil, 1/4 tsp black pepper and 2 bay leaves to the broth itself. The smell of the herbs and the lemon is just beautiful on the stove. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I nailed my grams escarole soup with this recipe. I had to double the servings for Thanksgiving and it was a hit ! Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriousCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was delicious- the lemon adds a really nice dimension to it. I made it low sodium/vegetarian using l.s. veggie broth and packaged veggie 'meatballs'. I also subbed spinach for the escarole and a can of l.s. white kidney beans for the orzo (I was out). Topped each serving with a squirt of lemon juice and sliced green onions on top and fresh garlic bread on the side. Hubby really enjoyed it and suggested I make it for the family holiday gathering. Thanks DPATEL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
it's ok. I liked the lemon zest- it's a very unique flavor. What I didn't like was the soup was way too greasy. I used extra lean ground beef. Not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This soup turned out delicious! Instead of hamburger I used Italian chicken sausage and the meatballs were wonderful. The only time consuming step was forming the meatballs but I doubled the recipe so that makes sense. I wasn't sure how to grate fresh basil so I tried, gave up and then minced it. Very good for a chilly day. I served it with a loaf of crusty italian bread which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
The only thing I changed was I used half of a lemon rind and it was perfect. I think a whole one would have been too much. The only bad thing is it doesn't make enough...we finished the whole pot! My kids never ask for seconds. In fact, I have to make another batch tonight because my older daughter wants it for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My family thought this recipe was a little bland. Next I will add romano to the meatballs and some red onion to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States