California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
great soup. the lemon zest is what makes it great. I added chopped zuchinni, carrots and kale to the soup and it came out great. next time I will serve it with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Loved this recipe!! I found it randomly tonight...soo happy I did!! Both my picky eater children gobbled it down, and hubby was fighting for leftovers! So good. Thank you DPatel for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. It's easy, quick and delicious. My kids love it. Great mid-week dinner. I serve with Italiano bread and a green salad. Love the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
GREAT starter recipe! I used spinach instead of escarole, doubled everything except the broth (oops, more like stew), added celery and all fresh herbs, switched breadcrumbs for stale cracker crumbles, and then realized I didn't have orzo. So I used rice instead! I do think I'd add shedded chicken when I make this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trtlflwrs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is a nice soup for a light meal, I liked the addition of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Excellent and light...I used 8c of fat free reduced sodium chicken broth and also made my meatballs out of extra lean ground chicken, used fresh baby spinach and also added a shredded carrot. Loved the scallions and lemon flavor in this soup. I did add the orzo after I cooked it as not to make the soup starchy. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I thought this was just ok at first, but boy does this get so much better the next day! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
The original recipe is a very nice base, but I found it just slightly bland so I made some additions. First of all, I made a double-batch because I had a whole pound of beef to use. I also used spinach for the escarole, and used a whole 9oz package instead of just 4 cups; I added it whole rather than slicing it. I added 1/2 tsp of granulated garlic to the meatball mixture. I also made some additions to the broth: I first lightly sauteed 1/2 a white onion, thinly sliced, and 4 cloves of minced garlic in 1/4 cup white wine and 1/2 tbsp olive oil, and added 1/2 tsp dried parsley, 1/2 tsp dried basil, 1/4 tsp black pepper and 2 bay leaves to the broth itself. The smell of the herbs and the lemon is just beautiful on the stove. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I nailed my grams escarole soup with this recipe. I had to double the servings for Thanksgiving and it was a hit ! Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriousCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was delicious- the lemon adds a really nice dimension to it. I made it low sodium/vegetarian using l.s. veggie broth and packaged veggie 'meatballs'. I also subbed spinach for the escarole and a can of l.s. white kidney beans for the orzo (I was out). Topped each serving with a squirt of lemon juice and sliced green onions on top and fresh garlic bread on the side. Hubby really enjoyed it and suggested I make it for the family holiday gathering. Thanks DPATEL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States