California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I love this soup. Last time I made it with kale and used cheese tortellini pasta. It was a huge hit with my family. Also made meatballs with a mixture of sausage and gr. beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxiey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
One of my favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made Spanakopita, Greek spinach pie, the other day and was out of fresh spinach so I used sliced fresh mushrooms in it's place and served with spinach pie on the side. The dishes actually went well together. The soup was tasty, very easy and pretty quick to make. Being that I had between 3/4 and 1 lb ground beef I increased the broth to 8 cups and added an extra egg, an extra TBLS of bread crumbs, 3 green onions instead of 2, a heaping TBLS of parmesan/romano cheese and a full cup of orzo. I also didn't have the fresh basil or Italian flat parsley, so I used about 2 TBLS regular fresh parsley and 1 TBLS dried basil. Tried to stick to the recipe as close as I could with what was on hand, and being a mushroom lover thought they were wonderful in the soup. Next time I will probably tweak the broth a bit, even though it was very good with plain chicken broth from a can/box, I like the taste and benefits of cooking with fresh foods and usually include garlic, onion, celery and sometimes carrots to my chicken broth. It will increase the cooking time a bit, but think it would give the broth greater depth of flavor. Also some salt and pepper although perhaps unnecessary are always appreciated by my palate. I left it out during preparation to see if it would be missed, but added some to my bowl, my boyfriend did not. Again, the soup was quite good without these changes and preparation was simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyRobn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
def need to add more vegetables. Meatballs tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
So good! This is one of my favorite soup recipes. I make it with a splash of lemon juice and abc noodles plus extra broth as needed. Rolling the meatballs in flour also makes them a little easier to handle and thickens the soup a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysia Deerwester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
great soup. the lemon zest is what makes it great. I added chopped zuchinni, carrots and kale to the soup and it came out great. next time I will serve it with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Loved this recipe!! I found it randomly tonight...soo happy I did!! Both my picky eater children gobbled it down, and hubby was fighting for leftovers! So good. Thank you DPatel for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. It's easy, quick and delicious. My kids love it. Great mid-week dinner. I serve with Italiano bread and a green salad. Love the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
GREAT starter recipe! I used spinach instead of escarole, doubled everything except the broth (oops, more like stew), added celery and all fresh herbs, switched breadcrumbs for stale cracker crumbles, and then realized I didn't have orzo. So I used rice instead! I do think I'd add shedded chicken when I make this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trtlflwrs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States