California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I recommend everyone trying it once. Due to ingredients I had on hand, I made a few changes: used dried basil and dried parsley instead of fresh; and used dried onions instead of green onions. If you do this you will need to scale down the quantity of those ingredients. This soup has awesome flavor and is very, very easy to prepare. I recommend scaling the recipe up, it says 6 servings, but my boyfriend and I ate all of it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Loved this soup. The only change I made was to add 2 litres of chicken broth (8 cups) and made more meatballs. Excellent. Nest time i will make this using ground veal so the meatballs could be even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I honestly thought this was mediocre at best. I wasn't crazy about the flavor of it...nothing like Italian Wedding soup I've had and I didn't think the meatball flavor was very good. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanD112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
My family loved it. The fresh basil and lemon are wonderful and fragrant. The only change i made was i didn't have the extra lean ground beef so I boiled the meatballs is water first then drained and added to the chicken broth. Fantastic will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Dearth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is delicious. I used acini de pepe instead of orzo as others recommended and it was good. fresh parm is a must, as someone suggested. And as other reviewers say, the noodles do double in size and soak up all of the broth, so I will put in fewer noodles next time. It's not hard to make more broth, but why do it twice, right? Great recipe! My husband doesn't usually get as excited about soup as I do, and he liked this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Biang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is probably the best soup I have ever had. I also used spinach instead of escarole. I made the meatballs with ground baby lamb, and the flavour was fantastic. The lemon rind is a wonderful touch. I also used a cup of shredded carrots. I have used orzo and thought it was good.Next time I will try to find acini de pepe in our little supermarket. Thank you Deena for this wonderful recipe that I will put in our rotating recipe list for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is goood soup. Will be having leftovers today. I made it with ground turkey and a bag of frozen spinach, thawed. The 16 oz of spinach I used was way too much -- but still very good. I threw in some sliced carrot and mushrooms just because. I also added a squeeze of lemon juice to each bowl. Thanks for an easy, yummy, healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Wonderful and very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Salas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Tonight was my second time making this soup, and I did a couple of things differently than I did before. I followed the suggestions of other chefs to use hot Italian sausage instead of beef, but left out the Parmesan cheese. I browned the meatballs (on two sides) in the same pot that I made the soup in, but before I added the chicken stock, I poured off all of the fat that had cooked out of the meatballs, but leaving the little brown bits and such in the bottom of the pot. I also used 8 cups (2, 32 oz boxes) of chicken stock. In bringing the stock to boil I also added a generous pinch of kosher salt (roughly 2 teaspoons). This amount of stock helped to cut the over powering lemony taste. Like others, I used spinach because I couldn't find escarole anywhere (I haven't a clue what it looks like). These minor alterations caused for the soup to have a lot more flavor then previously!!! But you be the judge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Great soup and very easy to make! Everyone in my entire family loved it. As a few others suggested, I substituted ground chicken in place of the ground beef... excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States