California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Wonderful and very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Salas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Tonight was my second time making this soup, and I did a couple of things differently than I did before. I followed the suggestions of other chefs to use hot Italian sausage instead of beef, but left out the Parmesan cheese. I browned the meatballs (on two sides) in the same pot that I made the soup in, but before I added the chicken stock, I poured off all of the fat that had cooked out of the meatballs, but leaving the little brown bits and such in the bottom of the pot. I also used 8 cups (2, 32 oz boxes) of chicken stock. In bringing the stock to boil I also added a generous pinch of kosher salt (roughly 2 teaspoons). This amount of stock helped to cut the over powering lemony taste. Like others, I used spinach because I couldn't find escarole anywhere (I haven't a clue what it looks like). These minor alterations caused for the soup to have a lot more flavor then previously!!! But you be the judge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Great soup and very easy to make! Everyone in my entire family loved it. As a few others suggested, I substituted ground chicken in place of the ground beef... excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I thought this was great, but it needed some additions for my boyfriend and I... Added extra broth, dried oregano, red pepper, about 1 TBSP of soy sauce and a WHOLE bag of sliced baby spinach to the soup. We also used pork for the meatballs. It was VERY yummy and I thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Quick, easy and deelish! I used ground chicken for a healthier version and i forgot to add the lemon :( Made this for a late lunch/early dinner served with some sandwiches. Went over pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I looked for an Orzo recipe because I've had a bag for a while, and I'm so glad I picked this one! I made this exactly as it says except I added 2c of broth because we like lots of liquid. I also had to unfreeze a pound of hamburger to make it, which was fine with me because the kids love the meatballs! This soup was awesome! My 3yo had 3 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Good quick soup. I chose ground turkey instead of ground beef. I substituted spinach for escarole, 3 tbsp of bottled lemon juice for lemon zest, and white onion for green - just because it's what I had on hand. I'd make this again. Subtle lemon flavor makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I love this recipe! I will never buy canned italian wedding soup again. This recipe is too easy to make and sooo delicious! I used ground pork for the meatballs, as another reviewer suggested. Also, I used acini de pepe pasta instead of orzo. I used spinach because my grocery store didn't have escarole. I thought this recipe was just fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Yum!! I used the acini de pepe pasta as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
so easy to make and so tasty! You may want to have some extra broth on hand because the ancini de pepe noodles really suck up the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States