California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe gets rave reviews whenever it is served. Use beef, turkey, or your own mixture for the meatballs, it doesn't matter. The soup is terrific and the lemon zest adds a touch not found in most soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very good. I will use this from now on. I also used spinach and ground beef, browned it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this soup twice and both times I've been asked for recipe. I subbed ground turkey for the beef and kale for the escarole. Very yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Tastey. I used dried parsley and basil cause i didnt have fresh, i used fesh parmasean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is way better than the canned stuff! I made my meatballs with ground turkey and added extra parm. cheese to them. I also didn't have any spinach, so used kale instead, which made it very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I recommend everyone trying it once. Due to ingredients I had on hand, I made a few changes: used dried basil and dried parsley instead of fresh; and used dried onions instead of green onions. If you do this you will need to scale down the quantity of those ingredients. This soup has awesome flavor and is very, very easy to prepare. I recommend scaling the recipe up, it says 6 servings, but my boyfriend and I ate all of it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Loved this soup. The only change I made was to add 2 litres of chicken broth (8 cups) and made more meatballs. Excellent. Nest time i will make this using ground veal so the meatballs could be even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I honestly thought this was mediocre at best. I wasn't crazy about the flavor of it...nothing like Italian Wedding soup I've had and I didn't think the meatball flavor was very good. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
My family loved it. The fresh basil and lemon are wonderful and fragrant. The only change i made was i didn't have the extra lean ground beef so I boiled the meatballs is water first then drained and added to the chicken broth. Fantastic will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Dearth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is delicious. I used acini de pepe instead of orzo as others recommended and it was good. fresh parm is a must, as someone suggested. And as other reviewers say, the noodles do double in size and soak up all of the broth, so I will put in fewer noodles next time. It's not hard to make more broth, but why do it twice, right? Great recipe! My husband doesn't usually get as excited about soup as I do, and he liked this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States