California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Totally enjoyed this. I did not have seasoned breadcrumbs so I had to add my own seasonings to it. I think I could have added more maybe garlic. The lemon is a nice touch. I used the spinach option. It was very good and quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Yummy, yummy, yummy...I love soup in my tummy! I made the meatballs with a mixture of Italian sausage and ground beef and baked them in the oven for 10 minutes. I hunted high and low, and thankfully I found acini de pepe pasta for a more authentic wedding soup! Topped it with fresh shaved Parmesan Reggiano curls. Leftovers were even better the next day. The fresh lemon and herbs make this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was absolutely fantastic. It also froze well. The lemon really makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
AWESOME! I DID BROIL THE MEAT BALLS. I ALSO BUY ROTISSORIE CHICKEN A LOT FROM B.J'S. I ALWAYS KEEP THE JUICES AND USE FOR COOKING.(COOL FIRST TO REMOVE MOST OF THE FAT). I ADDED SOME SOME OF THESE JUICES AND THIS MADE FOR A VERY RICH TASTING SOUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I was really hoping to like this and was let down. Too salty!! Maybe I should have done half the chicken broth and water and then seasoned to taste. Chicken broth is just so salty by itself. Don't know it I'd try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
very good. I did substitute spinach and I omitted the lemon zest (because I didn't have any). I did add a few splashes of lemon juice as well as some Tastefully Simple Garlic Garlic and Onion Onion as it was boiling. It turned out a bit salty, but very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is a good hearty soup. The only thing I did differently was use ground turkey and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
i have tried a few recipes for this soup......this is by far the best...california style is a refreshing change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jinni Eek
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Very very good soup! The only thing I changed was that I cooked the meatballs for 10 minutes in the oven first as a reviewer suggested. I also had a really big lemon so I didn't add all the zest, good choice I think if I did it would be too lemony for me and my family's tastes. The only other thing I did was I didn't have any green onions for the meatballs so I used a little bit of fresh chive instead. Great tasting, easy recipe. I would definitely reccomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was absolutely yummy! I wish I had made a double batch.....oh well, can make more tomorrow. I followed the recipe exactly as shown. As everyone said, the lemon zest and fresh herbs are what makes this so awesome. Thank you very much for the recipe!! Will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States