California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used 1/2 lb of lean ground meat and 1/2 lb of ground pork for the meatballs. Spinach. I omitted the lemon zest. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ren1375
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I have been counting calories and love soup so when I stumbled upon this I was so excited to try it! I was leary about the lemon zest, but to my surprise I loved it and feel it gives it a nice "clean" taste appeal! It was SO GOOD I made it twice in 2 wks! :) I think the meatballs are excellent and used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I added 1lb of meat to make 24 meatballs and chopped a little more spinach...bc why not right? Then added cut up carrots for extra color, and another couple cups of broth (just to accommodate my "extras") and those are the only adjustments I made purely on my own taste. Seriously excellent and I will no doubt be craving this soup quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Good soup and easy. Lemon zest is a great addition. The store wasn't carrying escarole or any good substitute, so i tried spinach one time (good) and kale another (not as good). If you use spinach don't let it cook for long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I love this soup. Last time I made it with kale and used cheese tortellini pasta. It was a huge hit with my family. Also made meatballs with a mixture of sausage and gr. beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxiey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
One of my favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made Spanakopita, Greek spinach pie, the other day and was out of fresh spinach so I used sliced fresh mushrooms in it's place and served with spinach pie on the side. The dishes actually went well together. The soup was tasty, very easy and pretty quick to make. Being that I had between 3/4 and 1 lb ground beef I increased the broth to 8 cups and added an extra egg, an extra TBLS of bread crumbs, 3 green onions instead of 2, a heaping TBLS of parmesan/romano cheese and a full cup of orzo. I also didn't have the fresh basil or Italian flat parsley, so I used about 2 TBLS regular fresh parsley and 1 TBLS dried basil. Tried to stick to the recipe as close as I could with what was on hand, and being a mushroom lover thought they were wonderful in the soup. Next time I will probably tweak the broth a bit, even though it was very good with plain chicken broth from a can/box, I like the taste and benefits of cooking with fresh foods and usually include garlic, onion, celery and sometimes carrots to my chicken broth. It will increase the cooking time a bit, but think it would give the broth greater depth of flavor. Also some salt and pepper although perhaps unnecessary are always appreciated by my palate. I left it out during preparation to see if it would be missed, but added some to my bowl, my boyfriend did not. Again, the soup was quite good without these changes and preparation was simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyRobn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
def need to add more vegetables. Meatballs tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
So good! This is one of my favorite soup recipes. I make it with a splash of lemon juice and abc noodles plus extra broth as needed. Rolling the meatballs in flour also makes them a little easier to handle and thickens the soup a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
great soup. the lemon zest is what makes it great. I added chopped zuchinni, carrots and kale to the soup and it came out great. next time I will serve it with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States