California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this, as did my nephews (ages 10 and 12). Killer meat balls. Maybe I would add a couple more veggies to the mix but overall great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Hymson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is a very easy and tasty recipe. I changed the basil to fresh cilantro. I also used half a cup of fresh parmesan instead of the dry kind. Also, the first time I made it, the ozro soaked up the majority of the broth, so the second time I used 7 cups of broths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We enjoyed this! My husband and I really liked the addition of the lemon zest. I did add some carrots and celery, just to bulk it up a bit (just sweated them in a little EVOO for about five minutes before adding the broth). Tasty soup, served with some crusty baguettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used 1/2 lb of lean ground meat and 1/2 lb of ground pork for the meatballs. Spinach. I omitted the lemon zest. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ren1375
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I have been counting calories and love soup so when I stumbled upon this I was so excited to try it! I was leary about the lemon zest, but to my surprise I loved it and feel it gives it a nice "clean" taste appeal! It was SO GOOD I made it twice in 2 wks! :) I think the meatballs are excellent and used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I added 1lb of meat to make 24 meatballs and chopped a little more spinach...bc why not right? Then added cut up carrots for extra color, and another couple cups of broth (just to accommodate my "extras") and those are the only adjustments I made purely on my own taste. Seriously excellent and I will no doubt be craving this soup quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Good soup and easy. Lemon zest is a great addition. The store wasn't carrying escarole or any good substitute, so i tried spinach one time (good) and kale another (not as good). If you use spinach don't let it cook for long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I love this soup. Last time I made it with kale and used cheese tortellini pasta. It was a huge hit with my family. Also made meatballs with a mixture of sausage and gr. beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxiey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
One of my favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made Spanakopita, Greek spinach pie, the other day and was out of fresh spinach so I used sliced fresh mushrooms in it's place and served with spinach pie on the side. The dishes actually went well together. The soup was tasty, very easy and pretty quick to make. Being that I had between 3/4 and 1 lb ground beef I increased the broth to 8 cups and added an extra egg, an extra TBLS of bread crumbs, 3 green onions instead of 2, a heaping TBLS of parmesan/romano cheese and a full cup of orzo. I also didn't have the fresh basil or Italian flat parsley, so I used about 2 TBLS regular fresh parsley and 1 TBLS dried basil. Tried to stick to the recipe as close as I could with what was on hand, and being a mushroom lover thought they were wonderful in the soup. Next time I will probably tweak the broth a bit, even though it was very good with plain chicken broth from a can/box, I like the taste and benefits of cooking with fresh foods and usually include garlic, onion, celery and sometimes carrots to my chicken broth. It will increase the cooking time a bit, but think it would give the broth greater depth of flavor. Also some salt and pepper although perhaps unnecessary are always appreciated by my palate. I left it out during preparation to see if it would be missed, but added some to my bowl, my boyfriend did not. Again, the soup was quite good without these changes and preparation was simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyRobn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States