California Grilled Veggie Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Trust me, you will not miss the meat in this sandwich! I also broiled my veggies because of the snow outside on top of the grill. The only veggie I added was green pepper only because I had one. I will use a large red onion next time because we love the carmelized flavor of the onion under the broiler. I also sprayed my veggies with balsamic vinegar for some extra "zip". Served the veggies on hearty multi-grain rolls from Whole Foods - - use the best bread possible because it truly will make or break the sandwich. Excellent recipe, Heather!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was quite possibly the best sandwich I've ever had (my hubby said the same thing). We put it in italian-seasoned focaccia and after the veggies were done (we grilled them on a gas grill), we assembled the sandwich and wrapped in foil and put in a 350F oven for 20 minutes. Incredible. I want another one already. For us, this made 2 very large sandwiches. UPDATE: we've made these about once every other week and we still haven't gotten sick of them. Make sure and make the sauce about ahead of time and let it sit for about an hour in the fridge to mix the flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
It was a little confusing about how to slice the foccacia bread and why the recipe serves 4 when the instructions seem only to make 2 sandwiches. But nonetheless, I winged it and like the other reviewers said, it was terrific. My vegetarian friend I made it for really liked it. Next time I'll cook the vegies in foil wrap to save on turning and watching so much. Will also add portabello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This was absolutely delicious!! One serving filled me up. We grilled the veggies on a tin foil platter sprayed with olive oil and it worked great. We grilled them for 7 minutes a side also to make sure the onions were soft and a bit carmelized. (We don't like them raw.) Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Just made this for a few neighbors with some slight changes and everyone was asking me to make it again for them and they would buy the ingredients! I added portabella mushrooms and eggplant. Marinated the veggies and did as others suggested, roasting them on foil. Added pesto and sun dried tomatoes to the aoli sauce. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This was FABULOUS!!!!! Only thing different I did was add portabello mushrooms, and I marinated all veggies in a balsamic vinaigrette before grilling....YUM!!!!! I also used a big loaf of bread and cut it horizontally and made it like a big sub that I then cut into pieces!!!! EASY and GREAT!!!!Thanks Heather, for a GREAT recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wow, now this is veggie heaven! What a fabulous sandwich that's not only bursting with vibrant colors but it's also bursting with a lot of flavor! Grilling the veggies really gives it a nice smoky quality that tastes great. I added a bit of garlic, rosemary, thyme, fresh lemon juice, kosher salt, and cracked black pepper to the olive oil to baste the veggies while grilling. I also grilled some thick sliced tomato along with the other veggies and opted for some mild cheddar cheese vs. feta. This was great on focaccia and I'd love to experiment with other types of bread - this recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was really good. I had some doubts, even after reading all of the other positive reviews, because I didn't know how well my meat-eating, preponderantly male family would take to an all-veggie sandwich. They loved it - and so did I. I only had minced garlic, so I roasted some of that in a glass dish in my toaster oven for the aioli. I used sliced red and green bell peppers, zucchini, fresh sliced mushroom, tomatoes and carmelized onions for my vegetables. I didn't have rosemary, so I just used dried basil and parsley instead. I used Monterey Jack cheese and used English muffins as my base - yum! I'll definitely, definitely be making these again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This was great! I have never made anything like this before, but my mother was coming over for dinner and is a mostly vegetarian. I found this and will make it again and again. I was a bit confused about the slicing part, but I winged it and sliced it sideways, then layered the sandwich and cut it in wedges. It was perfect. I didn't use all of the dressing, just enough to moisten the bread. It was easy and tasty. I served some fruit on the side and had a wonderful summer dinner. Thanks for sharing, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This was absolutely fantastic! I also grilled some tomatoes and asparagus and everyone took what they liked for their own sandwich. I doubled the garlic mayo (aioli) the 2nd time I made it since 1/4 cup didn't go far enough in my house. A nice plus to this recipe, after the meal, we all felt "full" but not "heavy" and it gave me energy, as my usual sandwich of pbj doesn't seem to do! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States