California Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
In the PA Dutch version we simply don't use oil in the mix. Everything else is the same, except onions are optional. Thes rest of the dressing are measured to taste, depending on how "spicy" you like it. We generally don't measure. Try making it with just the vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper. You'll have a whole new taste experience from the other side of the country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This comes close to a slaw they serve at our favorite Mexican restaurant. Mine came out a little dizzying to look at since all I had on hand was red cabbage and yellow bell peppers! It was really bright (and pretty). It's good. (I have tried using this dressing with packaged cole slaw mix and it doesn't turn out well at all, it is limp instead of crisp.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
marinate it overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Like another person suggested, I just used a bag of prepared cole slaw - this took the prep time down to less than five minutes, and it was delicious! Thanks so much for a very easy and tasty recipe - I'll make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This is a delightful recipe - in ALL respects. It is so simple to make. It can (and should) be made ahead of time. It makes a beautiful presentation and the flavor is wonderful! I call it California Cabbage Salad, because people have a pre-conceived idea of what cole slaw is. When taking it to a pot luck, served side-by-side with traditional slaw, you'll get so many rave reviews! Thanks, Alex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This slaw is great. A wonderful change from mayonaise based slaws. Will keep several weeks in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Very, very good! The longer it sits the better. It was the perfect balance of sweet and sour. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHYB_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
Served this with Jay's Jamaican Jerk Chicken and mashed sweet potatoes for a large group. It was a huge success! I made it the night before and let it soak in the marinade, which is the way to go. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Goes great on a bbq'd pork sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
You are so right, this does get better everyday. It just doesn't last long because it is so good. Thanks for a great change in cole slaw!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States