California Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very easy to make and turns out great. It is much better after it marinates overnight, and I drained off excess liquid before I served. Makes a great easy filler for wraps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Pretty good! I accidentally bought red cabbage, but I think it came out pretty awesome. I think some of the proportions in this recipe are a little off because this definitely yields more than 6 servings. Also, I had a head of cabbage (approx 4 lbs) and it may not have been "small" enough because I only used about half of it with the rest of the portions staying the same, except a little extra carrots. I might also not use up all the dressing next time, as there was an excessive amount of liquid left over. Either way, it was still very tasty and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Good, but a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I will cut down on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made it as written; nobody could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I will admit, I didn't follow this recipe to the letter! I was in the mood for coleslaw one evening, and I needed a recipe that was not mayonnaise based. I took the liberty of using 1/2 cup of rice vinegar and 1/4 cup sesame oil instead of the vinegar and oil used in the recipe (what can I say...I'm Filipino, and these are what I had handy!) Instead of chopping my bell peppers, I sliced them thinly. I used red onion instead of white, because it's what I had handy. It turned out great...even my husband went for seconds, and he is a bit picky! Please remember, I made changes to the recipe without trying the original. However, the original recipe did serve as a springboard to making coleslaw with what I had handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJAVIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
If you prefer vinegar dressing to mayo like my family and I do, your search for the perfect cole slaw recipe ends here! Just use any type of onion, cabbage, pepper and throw in whatever other veggies you have on hand - I've added celery and apple in the past. I do cut the oil down to 1/4 cup but follow the other ingredients as written. Also tastes fine with olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
excellent...but i omit the oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Great anytime salad option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Super easy for quick prep slaw. I agree with the other users that it is way better sitting after a day. But it is almost as delicious that same day! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Good recipe for someone who likes peppers, I do not like peppers so I did not care for it much. My sister and my mom loved it (they love peppers) but my sister said it needed to be sweeter. The dressing is good! I like it having no mayo. If you like peppers it is a must! If you don't like peppers, don't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States