California Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Superb! I was making "Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce" and needed a side dish or two...something refreshing. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! I cheated a little and bought a 1 lb. bag of prepared coleslaw (already had shredded carrots in it) and I chopped up the rest of the veggies myself. For the marinade, I mixed all the ingredients in a separate cup and then poured it into the salad bowl with the veggies and tossed the salad making sure everything was nice and wet. I refrigerated it for about 4 hours. It went excellent with the fish! A very refreshing and tasty coleslaw! I will be making this a lot in the upcoming summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Wow. This is fantastic. I used a store package of broccoli slaw mix instead of a head of cabbage. I tested this recipe just in time for grill season--my boyfriend and I will be eating this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Scottsdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
As a Spaniard I have been making this salad for over 50 years. We always use olive oil & cider vinegar, and we never measure, we go by taste test. If one doesn't want to add sugar (I don't), sub seasoned rice vinegar for cider and reduce the oil. The key is that the cider vinegar gives it a nice 'bite'. Sugar is optional. Definitely marinate in fridge for several hours, or overnight. If made just prior to dinner, marinate at room temp for about an hour, tossing to coat several times. It will have absorbed the marinade and still retain a little crispness. Leftovers are great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Yum! We didn't have the bell pepper, but still, yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This slaw is refreshing and has a "clean" taste. We loved it -- even my husband who says he does not like peppers! This will be a "go to" recipe for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I have made this recipe no fewer than five times. It gets raves reviews when I take it to work for pitch in lunch. I have only tweaked it just a bit using the same ingredients, except for red wine vinegar because it has more of a bite. I also use the grater on the cabbage to get it into tiny pieces. I like extra dressing so I use 1 cup red wine vinegar, 5T sugar and 1/2 cup oil. I think the oil helps the dressing cling to the veggies. The dressing is also great on sliced cucumbers and onions! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was yummy and I just made it. Will see after marinating. I didn't have cider vinegar so used 1/4 wine and 1/4 rice. Added some red paper flakes, dash of hot sauce and 1/4 tsp. of Adobe Criollo seasoning to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Wow! This was my first time making cole slaw in many years and it was so great!!! I only tasted it after it sat overnight and my dinner wasn't finished yet. I had a hard time stopping myself from filling up on it. I thought this recipe rocked! I didn't have bell pepper and I used white vinegar, cut the oil down to 1/4 cup like others suggested and it was so yummy. I think it's a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
After reading other reviews I left out the oil and it was delicious. Very fresh tasting and it went with a lot of different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States