California Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Glorious! Used jalapeno jack cheese, added sauteed poblano pepper on top of chicken & used guacamole instead of avocado. Yum!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My husband loved this, I however was not a big fan. I think if I make it again I will marinate the chicken before like others have suggested. It was just to bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was a great recipe and easy to make. I of course had to make it a little harder, knowing that my family likes spicy food. I dredged the chicken breasts in a mixture of panko crumbs, taco seasoning mix, cumin, garlic and dried cilantro, then browned it and followed rest of recipe. The avocado was wonderful when put with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I used Havarti because i didn't have Monterey Jack. It added a very nice flavour. I read a lot of people marinated their chicken, all i did was add a little seasoning that I like. It was fantastic, the avocado was the perfect touch. thank you, this will be made again... and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
We really liked this recipe. I only gave it 4 stars because I feel the marinade that other reviewers have recommended is really important -- it gives the chicken itself some flavor, rather than just relying on the toppings. I made a mistake by serving this chicken with another recipe from this site that we love, Quinoa and Black Beans. I thought the flavors would complement one another, but as it turned out, the quinoa's flavor (has a good dose of cumin and cayenne) was too strong for the milder chicken. Next time, I'd serve it with fresh sweet corn and maybe a cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by randilynn0913
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This one is a keeper! I also marinated the chicken in lime juice and cilantro for 2-3 hours. Then I pretty much followed the recipe as is. I served it with a half piece of corn on the cob and a small spinach salad with fat free vidalia onion/summer tomato dressing. An interesting way to use veggies fresh from the farm stand for a delicious summer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I love this recipe! Its one of those recipes that I always have the ingredients for, so I make it quite often, each time a little different. I sometimes add cayenne pepper or marinade it with lime juice, and I use a different cheese just about every time (Swiss is excellent with this). The best tip I can give is instead of slicing the cheese, tomato, and avocado, dice it and make a salsa out of it (it makes it easy to eat). I find that people shy away from the avocado or the tomato and eat around it, which is a mistake because these ingredients compliment each other so well, dicing everything makes it harder for people to "skip" on something. Be creative and play with different flavor combos, cooking should be fun not a step by step procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
It was simple, easy, yet very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralovesfood!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was pretty good, but probably would not make it again. It was easy, but cook time was way off for me, but maybe that was because it did did not specify what temp to heat the pan at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States