California Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I loved this, but I'm not giving 5 stars because I made a few changes that I think the chicken would have been bland without. I seasoned the chicken with seasoned salt, pepper, and onion powder and then marinated it for about an hour in olive oil, lemon juice (lime would probably be even better), and minced garlic. The chicken came out so tender, juicy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eflood
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Delicious! Very moist. I would recommend butterflying the chicken first to make it cool more quickly. Very easy and amazingly tasty for the amount of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This was the bomb! My husband loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I changed up the seasoning to suit our tastes, and only used one avocado, since there really wasn't "room" for both on top of 4 chicken breasts. I cooked my chicken on the stove in my cast iron skillet, and then just left them in there, topped them with the tomatoes and cheese, and put in the oven that way. Less steps and easier clean up than transferring them to a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
loved this recipe will make it again, next time we thought we might try adding some cooked bacon under the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
The only reason I couldn't give this five stars is because the chicken was bland. I agree with the other comments, marinate the chicken first and you'd have a five star recipe for sure! It was a hit, even with my picky 10 year old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myranda Faddis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, California, USA
Living In: Victor, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is one of those all-round good recipes that holds up well to substitutions. You could even make this as a sandwich! I subbed gouda slices for the monterey jack and jazzed up my tomatoes by broiling them with a little parmesan cheese and Italian dressing before topping the chicken with them. I also sprinkled a few bacon bits on for good measure. I assembled the finished pieces atop a bed of raw spinach, added a few sliced strawberries, a drizzle of Italian dressing, and it was so good! Definitely on the make-again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Unbelievable with bacon. Kids and hubs can't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCHPizzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Glorious! Used jalapeno jack cheese, added sauteed poblano pepper on top of chicken & used guacamole instead of avocado. Yum!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My husband loved this, I however was not a big fan. I think if I make it again I will marinate the chicken before like others have suggested. It was just to bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States