California Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
loved this recipe will make it again, next time we thought we might try adding some cooked bacon under the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
The only reason I couldn't give this five stars is because the chicken was bland. I agree with the other comments, marinate the chicken first and you'd have a five star recipe for sure! It was a hit, even with my picky 10 year old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myranda Faddis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, California, USA
Living In: Victor, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is one of those all-round good recipes that holds up well to substitutions. You could even make this as a sandwich! I subbed gouda slices for the monterey jack and jazzed up my tomatoes by broiling them with a little parmesan cheese and Italian dressing before topping the chicken with them. I also sprinkled a few bacon bits on for good measure. I assembled the finished pieces atop a bed of raw spinach, added a few sliced strawberries, a drizzle of Italian dressing, and it was so good! Definitely on the make-again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
To die for!! Even my kids loved it! I made a cilantro, lime, garlic and olive oil marinade like the top reviewer suggested and marinaded it all day. Then I followed the recipe exactly from there and it was amazing. I made rice pilaf to go with it and they were great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCHPizzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Glorious! Used jalapeno jack cheese, added sauteed poblano pepper on top of chicken & used guacamole instead of avocado. Yum!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My husband loved this, I however was not a big fan. I think if I make it again I will marinate the chicken before like others have suggested. It was just to bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was a great recipe and easy to make. I of course had to make it a little harder, knowing that my family likes spicy food. I dredged the chicken breasts in a mixture of panko crumbs, taco seasoning mix, cumin, garlic and dried cilantro, then browned it and followed rest of recipe. The avocado was wonderful when put with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I used Havarti because i didn't have Monterey Jack. It added a very nice flavour. I read a lot of people marinated their chicken, all i did was add a little seasoning that I like. It was fantastic, the avocado was the perfect touch. thank you, this will be made again... and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
We really liked this recipe. I only gave it 4 stars because I feel the marinade that other reviewers have recommended is really important -- it gives the chicken itself some flavor, rather than just relying on the toppings. I made a mistake by serving this chicken with another recipe from this site that we love, Quinoa and Black Beans. I thought the flavors would complement one another, but as it turned out, the quinoa's flavor (has a good dose of cumin and cayenne) was too strong for the milder chicken. Next time, I'd serve it with fresh sweet corn and maybe a cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States