California Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. I had a few changes I roasted a chicken. The chicken shreaded I liked the effect. I had to use dried tortellini so I added and extra can of chicken broth. The only change for next time is I will add another can of broth to add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This is a delicious soup. I use chicken tenderloins instead of chicken breasts. The recipe calls for a 9 oz bag of tortellini, but I could only find 19(?) I added over half of a 19 oz bag and it came out great. When we ate it, we also added more parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownSouthNowYall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hahira, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thefamilycook
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is a delicious and multi texture soup. You can use leftover chix breast instead of cooking it in the soup--great way to get rid of leftover chicken plus using fresh veggies make it healthy too. The before I broiled chicken breast with garlic pepper and olive oil for 15 minutes. It sat over night in the fridge, and I cut it up the next night for the soup. I added it last just to warm it up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I left out the broccoli, but otherwise kept things the same. It was really good, this will be a new staple in my menu's thank you. I can't believe the difference the parmesean made. Yummm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very satisfying chicken soup. Love the tortellini. Add more spice than it calls for though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Amazing.. loved it... added corn because we just love corn.. It's a very good soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Being the lazy person I am, and since I had leftover chicken that i had already pulled apart and was in broth, I threw everything in the pressure cooker and cooked it on rice setting for 6 minutes. Done and good, will do again. The only thing I did was add some chicken cubes to the water and put in about a tsp of lemon juice, regular pepper and som garlic powder. Also not a big fan of oregano, might try basil instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I have a family of 6 and make this often, everyone loves it. I pan cook the chicken first though because I like a golden brown chicken. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was very good, but I did add more seasoning and used less water. I used two 14oz cans of chicken broth and 2 soup cans of water. Probably needed a bit more liquid. I boiled for 20 minutes, added frozen broccoli, boiled another 7 minutes or so and added refrigerated tortellini. That only needed about 5 minutes and it was done. I added 1 tsp pepper, 1 tsp dried parsley, and 1 tsp dried thyme. Made this way it was flavorful and we all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States