California Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Good but I felt like it was missing that special something to make it great. Needs more seasonings. Maybe some bacon too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thefamilycook
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is a delicious and multi texture soup. You can use leftover chix breast instead of cooking it in the soup--great way to get rid of leftover chicken plus using fresh veggies make it healthy too. The before I broiled chicken breast with garlic pepper and olive oil for 15 minutes. It sat over night in the fridge, and I cut it up the next night for the soup. I added it last just to warm it up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This is a delicious soup. I use chicken tenderloins instead of chicken breasts. The recipe calls for a 9 oz bag of tortellini, but I could only find 19(?) I added over half of a 19 oz bag and it came out great. When we ate it, we also added more parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownSouthNowYall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hahira, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. I had a few changes I roasted a chicken. The chicken shreaded I liked the effect. I had to use dried tortellini so I added and extra can of chicken broth. The only change for next time is I will add another can of broth to add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this soup tonight for my family. I'd have to say I was a little disappointed with it. First of all why add 3 cups of water to the chicken broth it just watered it down, I ended up adding some chicken bullion to it to bring some of the flavor back. Secondly adding the veggies the way stated in the instructions makes for some very over cooked veggies. I will make the soup again but next time I will not add the extra water, but extra broth. I’ll add the veggies the same time I add the tortellini and won’t have the soup simmer 25 minutes with the chicken before adding the veggies, 15 minutes of simmering is plenty before adding the veggies. I also added a handful of spinach at the very end just before serving, giving it just enough time to wilt before spooning it out into bowls. Some of my family don’t like Parmesan cheese so we just added it to our own bowls for those of us who wanted it. I think with these changes it will make a much better soup. I also have to say that I didn’t add the lemon pepper because I didn’t have any on hand, I just use ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
The chicken came out stringy and icky tasting, but other than that it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I left out the broccoli, but otherwise kept things the same. It was really good, this will be a new staple in my menu's thank you. I can't believe the difference the parmesean made. Yummm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good. My husband said next time I should leave out the broccoli and add more pepper, however, I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikki Welter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States