California Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This was SO yummy. I only had one can of green chiles so I used one can of Rotel, drained, instead, and followed the rest of the recipe. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I love this casserole. To make it a meal, I add cooked and diced chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This is an AWSOME recipe Absolutely delicious. I tried it about a year ago and ever seince I make it at least once a month. I try different kinds of cheese in it and lately I've been adding chicken and making it a main course. If it is too strong for you with monerey jack substitute it for one of your favorite cheeses. I like it with cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Sometimes listening to other's reviews helps, sometimes not. I halved the sour cream and felt it wasn't enough (see photo - it's a bit dry without the correct amount). I realized halfway through making this that I didn't have canned chiles so I added other hot spices to make up for it. The way I made this it was about a 3. I think if I had the correct ingredients and made it according to the recipe, it would have been a 4. Still, it's mainly just rice and sour cream, but it's got a lot of potential. You could easily add chicken or hamburg, tomatoes, etc. to this and make it what you want it to be. Think of it as an enchilada with rice instead of a tortilla and just have fun with it. I will make this again, but will follow the recipe, and maybe add a few other things in for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very good! I added 2 cans of chopped chicken and corn. Also, I did not have the rice the recipe called for so I sub it for a box of zatterans black beans and rice. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I made this a little differently so it would be the main dish. I cooked 2 cups rice in 4 cups chicken broth with green onion, pepper and garlic, then mixed in a large can of chili beans. Combined the sour cream with the green chiles and a packet of taco seasoning, then layered the components like the recipe said and baked like the recipe said. This made 8 large servings and leftovers were great in flour tortillas with lettuce, tomatoes and salsa. Either in tortillas or plain, this turned out really well (my fiance loved it) and I'll make it again. Also, KKH3 must have done something wrong with their rice. There's no reason for rice to cook differently in broth than water, and the liquid to rice ratio described in the recipe should be just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
The concept is a good one - but WAY too much sour cream. I used way less, didn't measure, just a "glob" - and used 1 can green chiles and 1 can japs, cuz we like it SPICY. Used less cheese because.. well, cheese is expensive. Really good concept, with changes, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is a very good base for a casserole. I did change it to suit our tastes more, so I can only give it 3 stars, but if I could give it 3.5, it would be closer to that. I found it definitely needed meat of some kind. I've taken chicken or pork and sauteed in either fajita seasoning or adobe seasoning and layered it into the casserole. I've also sprinkled extra seasoning onto the casserole to give it a touch more flavor. After the second time making it exactly as specified, I tried adding more seasoning, and it definitely rounded out the creaminess of the sour cream/cheese. I probably only use ~2 cups shredded cheese, and that is plenty. My husband, LOVES, LOVES this casserole. Definitely one of his favorites, I feel it needs a touch more "oomph" - obtained by extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
it was ok- but mostly it was a lot of sour cream. not much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOUNTSTARS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I had to make major changes to this recipe. There was WAY too much cheese and way too little rice (and I love cheese). I ended up making a cup of rice and I reduced the cheese to half. The rice did not cook well with the broth (there was too little broth) and I ended up having to add water to it. It tasted well except for the crunchy rice that didn't get cooked enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States