California Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I didn't care for this recipe. Other people seemed to enjoy it, but I thought it was a bit watery. I will try adding sour cream or something extra next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This is a very good recipe, it's unusual, and definitely a winner! I did alter the recipe a little and took the advice of some other reviewers and added a touch of sour cream - definitely gave it alot of body and fullness to the flavor. I used Kens' lite ranch which was really good, and not as heavy tasting as the regular ranch. I added some taco hot sauce, some green peppers, canned mexicorn, some cheese, and I also used a zesty italian dressing for a kick. Additionally I used some cajun seasoning for a bit of warmth and alot of seasonings. It was very funky tasting, and it is now on my husbands list of favorite dips....oh, and try eating this with ritz crackers - I think it's better than tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This is fabulous and oh so tasty. My guests were apprehensive when just looking at the dip, but after a few bites, they were addicted (and I was too). This can be eaten as a salad too. In fact, I found myself sneaking bites right out of the bowl. I used Ken's light Olive Oil Vinagrette (very yummy dressing) and Kraft light ranch dressing. I'm making this for a luncheon tomorrow, can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Oooh, I loved this dip! Very, very good! Definitely let it sit overnight so the flavors can merry! After mixing it together,though, I tasted it and decided it needed a few extra "Mexican" ingredients: I added a few more heavy dashes of tobasco, some basil, cumin, and paprika. Add all these to taste and you'll have an awesome alternative to salsa! We'll keep you posted on what my Mexican-born neighbor thinks of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Super easy and quick, really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
So good! It does look a little funny, but once you get past that you won't be able to get enough! I used one can of pinto beans and one can of black, and a 15.25 oz can of mixed white and golden corn. I also used half jalapeno ranch, half regular ranch. And added a pinch of ground red pepper. Yummy! I will definetly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I made this recipe for work and EVERYONE loved it and wanted the recipe. The whole bowl was gone before lunch time. I would make this recipe again in a heartbeat! It was easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Many of the reviewers suggested that more color is needed in the dip. I find that using Green Giant's "Mexicorn" adds both color and extra flavor. Another substitution cooks may want to try is a mixture of mayonnaise and sour cream instead of the ranch dressing. For a little more body to the dip, I've also made this adding approx. 1 cup of finely shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This is definitely unique. Beans and corn generally don't interest my husband, but he really liked this. Corn chips are a must -- I tried some with fat-free tortillas, and it just didn't compare. I added a couple chopped jalepenos which really added to the flavor and texture, used green onions instead of white, and habanero pepper sauce instead of standard hot sauce. This is a real winner if you're looking for something a bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Delicious -- a big hit at my party this past weekend. Made a lot of dip, so consider cutting the recipe in half if you are serving other appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States