California Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I served this with corn chips as part of my "Super Bowl Spread" and the guys devoured every last corn kernel!! The only alterations I followed were to use a package of frozen Baby white corn mixed w/some frozen yellow corn instead of canned (thawed in the micro, of course), as well as to add some chopped green and red bell peppers. I left the concoction in the fridge overnight so the taste medley could be perfected and it was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This is one of my new favorites! I have been asked to pass this on to many friends. I make this using fat free dressing and it still tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This recipe has quickly become a favorite in my family. I suggest using McIlhenny Co's green pepper sauce. It gives it a nice flavor without being too hot or overpowering like regular tabasco can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This is very good. I made with yellow corn since I had that on hand. Reduced the amount of both dressings slightly. Served with tortilla chips. Friends asked for the recipe. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I was complimented on this dip, but personally thought it was lacking. Try adding more hot sauce and lime juice or avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Delicious! Make this 2 days ahead, so the flavors really marry. I use more cilantro than the recipe called for, and reduced the salad dressings by half. I used one can black beans and one can of pinto beans, 2 cans mexicorn, and added some red roasted pepper for additional color. Excellent recipe, Jolene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This was ok. It rivals Spicy bean Salsa on this site. THis recipe was definatly missing something, maybe some cayanne or some chopped jalapeno. I thought it was kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
We make this all the time and it goes so fast because it's so good. Every time we take it somewhere there's always someone asking for the recipe. Thanks Jolene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly the first time and it turned out good. For the second batch I used the Mexicorn in a can and creamy Italian dressing instead. It was great! My husband brought it to a work taco potluck for people to spoon on tacos or use as a side (definately use corn chips! More flavor). One guy just ate it straight with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This was AWESOME! I reduced the dressings a bit but otherwise an excellent dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States