California Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe! I will definitely make it again. The chili powder gives it a nice kick. Next time I will use a little less ranch and a little more italian for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Every time I make this dip, everyone asks me for the recipe. I hate cilantro, so I leave that out, and I usually omit the onion as well. The first time I made it, I expected the ranch/italian combination to taste a bit strange, but it turned out amazing! It's also good if you put in some different kinds of beans like kidney or garbanzo. I sometimes add celery as well to give it a crunch since I don't use onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Made this for a summer BBQ and it was great! We like things spicy so I doubled the hot sauce and chili powder. It was a little ruuny, so I think next time I'll do a little less dressing and add a little lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I gave this to a friend for a potluck and it was excellent. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPRECORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Awsome! Never lasts long. When I make it for social events, my family gets mad if I don't make a batch for home. The cilantro really gives it that "je ne sais quoi." I can't count the number of people who have asked me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I have made this twice now for social gatherings - one backyard bar-b-que and 1 famly get-together. It was literally the first thing gone. It is a MUST that you make it the night before or at least let it sit in the fridge for 8 hours. It makes all the difference. I also have added an avacado both times and think that that really adds to the flavor. I also add a couple of spoonfuls of sour cream like someone else suggested, some diced pickled jalepenos, and cut back just a little on the dressings. Last time I served it with Red hot roasted pita chips (pitas cut into wedges, sprinkled with spicy spices and toasted in the oven). Can't count the number of people that have asked for this recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I love this dip. I make it for every gathering I go to or host. It is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Sorry, but this didn't go over on Christmas eve and I have a ton of it left. Nothing really that special about this dip. If you do make it cut the recipe in half because your guests may like it but not love it. it needs something extra in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
No matter where I take this, it receives raves. It's sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Wonderful recipe; received raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States