California Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Loved it! We roasted diced red bell pepper and roasted the white corn as well for about 30 mins on 400 degrees and left out the cilantro and served the dip warm. HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylrowe
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I followed the advice of one reviewer and decreased both dressings- 1/4 cup Italian and 1/2 cup Ranch. It turned out wonderfully without an overall strong Ranch taste. I also added an avocado and a red pepper. This was eaten up quickly at a little party and my friends just raved about it. They were trying to guess the ingredient that made it kinda creamy. When all flavors mingle together, it is awesome! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stuffsalush
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made quite a few changes because I was missing several ingredients. Used yellow corn instead of white. Made Italian dressing from salad vinegar, sugar, basil, and oregano. I didn't have an onion so I used onion powder. I only had dry spices but I'm sure fresh would make all the difference. Even with all of these changes it was great. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wow - this is one amazing dip. I have made it more times than I can count in the three months since finding the recipe. It is easy to make, delicious to eat, and EVERYBODY wants the recipe! I use "spicy ranch" and "zesty italian" for the dressings just for a little something different. I always make the day before to let flavors meld. OH and any leftovers (HAH! I only have leftovers when I make a double batch!) keep well in the fridge for at least a week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie Coeling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This tastes pretty good, but I did end up making modifications. After reading the reviews, I decided to start with half the recommended dressings and adding more if needed. I did not add any more. The dip was wet enough. More for appearance than taste, I added some diced red pepper. This just didn't go over so well at the party I took it to and I ended up taking most of it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow - this is amazing! I couldn't wait the whole 8 hours so I tried this after 2.5 hours in the fridge. It's FABULOUS!!! I can't imagine it tasting better in a few more hours! I did very some things according to other reviewers. I did cut the dressings by 1/2 (which appears to be perfect). I used the Zesty Italian someone suggested and fat free Ranch. I also added 1-2 T sour cream. I also diced and added 1/2 a red and 1/2 a green pepper. I could have done the whole for both but I worried about overwhelming the beans/corn - next time I will use the whole peppers. They add a lot of flavor and color. I also tiny-diced 1/2 of a jalapeno. Added a little extra cilantro. I also added one can of the white corn and, folllowing the reviewer who added "Mexicorn" I made my way through my grocery store's Mexican section until I can across Kuner's Southwestern Corn N Peppers. The ingredients on it are listed as "Corn, water, red and green pepper, salt." This seems like it'd be great in a lot of recipes (i.e Chili). I completely agree that this would make an excellent side-dish, too - eating it right off a spoon is delicious and if you're health-concious, I suppose it's better for you this way. (But who can resist a corn chip?!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Everyone really liked this dip, including the kids. The only thing I will try different next time is to add a chopped jalapeno for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I have been making this recipe for a few years. I like to bring it to the "dish to pass" events, watch people overlook it and then once I talk someone into tasting it...it disappears and everyone wants the recipe. I confess, I call it the "Ugly Bean Dip" because it is not so attractive, but the taste - MMMM! I use plain can corn not the mexican, and be sure to make ahead of time to let the flavors come out. Be careful, it can get too soupy. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I made this dip for a cookout over the weekend and everyone enjoyed it. I did use only 1/4 cup of Italian and 1/2 cup of Ranch dressing per other reviewers, but I think next time I will use the amount stated in the recipe. I used mexicorn and subbed a can of pinto beans for one can of black beans. Next time I will also use more cilantro, as I think this herb is what gives this type of dish it's flavor. Also, I think it is better to make the day before. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I found this recipe a couple years ago, each time I make it, everyone loves it. Fresh cilantro makes this dish. I usually halve the recipe and it makes enough for a smaller gathering. Leftovers taste even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States