California Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very tasty. Served with Fritoes. Next time I would use the Frito scoops as the original Fritoes were not big enough to get much of the dip on the Frito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Used mexi corn, added 1 cup of Colby jack cheese and diced green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is amazing! I added red and green bell peppers for extra flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
The dip was devoured the first time I made it. I like a little more spice, so I used Southwestern Ranch in place of both dressings. I also added a red bell pepper, 1/4 cup jalepenos, 1/2 cup sour cream, and Ancho chili powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
i almost didn't make this recipe because so many people said how "unappealing" it looks. if you just add a few more things with some color, it's beautiful! i diced up a tomato, half of a green pepper, and put in a red onion instead of a white one and it not only tastes good, but it looks appetizing too! good call on halving the dressing. i think all of it would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
loved it and it was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
sorry, but this was JUST GROSS~ for the "semi-homeade" type of cook! I had to wash the dressing off the whole thing in a colander in the sink it tasted SO bad! then i added some olive oil, lime juice, cumin, fresh garlic and chili powder to the remaining ingredients, before serving it. I also added two chopped tomatoes for some color. that saved the day, and my pride cause i was taking it to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Bjugstad
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
VERY GOOD. I took the advice of others and used 1/4 C Italian and 1/2 Cup ranch- I halved the hot sauce and cayenne (figured I could add more later) and it tasted great. Used red onion and I thought this was a very good dip. I have a TON left so I think I will roll them up in tortillas and bake with some red sauce and queso; YUMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I am not a huge bean eater but this went over great at a work cinco de mayo party. I took other users suggestions and only used 1/2 cup ranch dressing. I also added some sour cream. It was a huge hit and super simple to make, I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Have made this many times it is always a huge hit. You can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States