Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Several years ago I got this recipe out of a Taste of Home and love it. Typically I make exactly per recipe, but I've also been known to use fresh red bell pepper in place of pimento and French fried onions in place of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This just didn't go over well at our Thanksgiving. From the recipe and reviews it looks delicious and a unique casserole but no one out of the 30+ people we had over cared much for this, me included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustAGoodOlBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
The casserole turned out pretty good although I omitted the pimentos and carrots. I think next time I will omit the water chestnuts too. We like just basic veggie casseroles. I did put in a little extra squash and zucchini, but not much. Love the ritz crumbles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this for a pot luck at work and it was very well liked. A number of people asked for the recipe and one person told me it was the best thing on the table (and I thought there were some tasty dishes there). The only changes I made were omitting the salt, adding a tablespoon of garlic power and pretty much doubled the cheese. After reading comments that said it was too wet, I made sure to drain the vegetables. I think great additions would be mushrooms and fresh green beans. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was excellent! I followed the recipe to the dot except for the butter part. Similar to an earlier review, I cut butter in half, and it was sufficient. The dish is already quite rich from the cheese and mayo, so I thought reducing the amount of butter would be a good idea. I also sauteed my vegetables instead of boiling. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I loved the flavors...I'm going to add more squash and zucchini next time though to make it a little lighter. It was creamy enough for addition of more veggies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Gave it a four because of prep time. Made it for the first time Saturday night and took it to a pot luck. It got rave reviews. I loved it, but will have to figure out how to make it more diabetic friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Thanks so much for this recipe! My family loved it! I used last years yellow and zucchini squash that I had sliced and frozen! Getting ready for this years crop! I let the squash thaw in the collander and squeezed the water out before I used some other readers recommendations and cooked the squash and onions in olive oil instead of water. I did not have water chestnuts or cream of mushroom so I used cream of chicken and it was still great! The cheese I had was cheddar and monterey jack! I also only had the mayonaise wiith olive oil and black pepper. This is a very versitile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very, very good... will definitely make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDYANDY6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States