Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This was wonderful! I had guests this weekends and served this. Even the 18yr old loved it and went back for thirds. I didn't have waterchesnuts, so omitted them. I also put some dill and tumeric in, and added about 1/2 cup fat free sour cream. The soup was 98% ft free, and the maynaise was aslo low fat, and it still wwas a winner. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
My husband loved this casserole! Even more than the chicken I made and says its a keeper! I didn't put as much carrots as requested, but it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This was by far one of the best squash recipes I've found. I could've eaten the whole dish myself! I too left out the pimento peppers. I will be making this often. Thanks Meli for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Family & friends really love this. Be sure to drain cooked squash well, or it will be too wet. I added mushrooms, and used Cheez-Its in the crust. Great for Holiday meals, and ingredients are inexpensive. You really ought to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Great casserole! Water chestnuts add a delightful crunch. Very healthy, tasty, and easy to make. Shared some with my next-door neighbors and they and their kids loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Oh Superb! Used Ritz crackers and didn't have any chesnuts or pimento peppers, but was still outstanding!! My family was sooo impressed..they were all licking there plates clean! A sure keeper! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
My taste buds are still dancing!!!! This dish was fantastic even though I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I couldn't put the carrots in because I'm allergic, didn't have water chestnuts, didn't have pimento, so I subbed with a small can of green chilies. I threw in some garlic and onions powders along with a little cayenne for a bit of a kick. The Ritz cheese crackers I had seemed to work well. In lieu of cheddar I used grated parm. Even without the suggested ingredients, this recipe was superb. My youngest daughter didn't even bother with the hamburgers my hubby made. No leftovers! (darn) Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
My boyfriend went nuts over this recipe!!! He ate it three nights in a row and I have to beg him to eat vegetables! Awesome recipe and easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Another great recipe! I served this to a husband and 2 preschoolers who don't like squash, and it was a huge hit! I've made it twice, and the second time I was almost out of "buttery round crackers", so I used some saltines. DON'T DO IT! It was not nearly as good...I ended up throwing almost half of it away.:) Moral is: USE the Buttery Crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
I made this calico squash casserole for the first time on Easter Sunday. It was a big hit. Everyone loved it even most of the grandkids. I was asked by a few family members for the recipe. Now it will become a favorite at family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHYLLIS ADAMS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States