Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
My taste buds are still dancing!!!! This dish was fantastic even though I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I couldn't put the carrots in because I'm allergic, didn't have water chestnuts, didn't have pimento, so I subbed with a small can of green chilies. I threw in some garlic and onions powders along with a little cayenne for a bit of a kick. The Ritz cheese crackers I had seemed to work well. In lieu of cheddar I used grated parm. Even without the suggested ingredients, this recipe was superb. My youngest daughter didn't even bother with the hamburgers my hubby made. No leftovers! (darn) Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I made this last night for our annual family Christmas party. My cynical relatives (especially the men) turned their noses up when they heard the list of ingredients, but they ate their words - and my ENTIRE dish - once it was on the table. It was voted the best dish of the day! My only note is that it definitely does not take only 10 minutes to prepare and I had to cook it about twice the length of time the recipe called for. It turned out perfectly though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly.The mayonnaise & cream of mushroom soup completely take over the flavor of this recipe. Neither my boyfriend or I cared this recipe. How sad. Was nothing like other yummy squash casserole dishes i have enjoyed in the past. bummer (update) i just wanted to add, that i am still teased about making this recipe, my boyfriend refers to is as that 'hot mayonaisse casserole thing'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristin Monnich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Sauteed instead of boiled, to keep all the vitamins and flavor. No green onions on hand, doubled zucchini, halved melted butter. Not sure if the pimentos added anything, so I may leave them out next time. Used reduced fat crackers, mayo and soup. Crunchy, creamy, cheesy, crispy - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I've made this several times and it's always turned out well, whether I made it for three or thirty (and yes, I DID make it for thirty). I've played around with the ingredients, but it's best with only a little extra squash. Definitely keep the water chestnuts, pimientos, and especially the Ritz crackers -- it's not as good with any other kind. I've not made it in awhile because it's a better winter recipe, but I'm looking forward to having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Another great recipe! I served this to a husband and 2 preschoolers who don't like squash, and it was a huge hit! I've made it twice, and the second time I was almost out of "buttery round crackers", so I used some saltines. DON'T DO IT! It was not nearly as good...I ended up throwing almost half of it away.:) Moral is: USE the Buttery Crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
One word - AWESOME! A staple for the summer dinner table. This recipe uses much from the summer garden/farmer's market and packs a big punch. You have the great flavor and the bonus of the value of serving several healthy veggies in one appealing casserole. I have shared this with several friends and family members and it has received only raves. Stop what you are doing and add this one to your recipe box...it's a keeper! Note: To save time you can boil the veggies and seperately mix the wet ingredients the night before. The next day just combine and add the crackers and you can speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
My boyfriend went nuts over this recipe!!! He ate it three nights in a row and I have to beg him to eat vegetables! Awesome recipe and easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Yum! I love it! I did leave out the water chestnuts and pimento peppers just for personal preference of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
My husband loved this casserole! Even more than the chicken I made and says its a keeper! I didn't put as much carrots as requested, but it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States