Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
This was wonderful. I added a can of ro-tel to add some zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
My husband and I fell in love with this! I've made it about 3 or 4 times. I used fat free mayo, fat free soup and whole wheat crackers the last time I made it. It still tastes just as good with the fat free stuff but you have to have the Ritz crackers. It's just not the same without the Ritz! My kids eat a little. The pimintos and pepper make it too hot for them. It's so good I crave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
This was okay, but to cut down on the salt and hold it together I would reduce the soup content and add an egg or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Family & friends really love this. Be sure to drain cooked squash well, or it will be too wet. I added mushrooms, and used Cheez-Its in the crust. Great for Holiday meals, and ingredients are inexpensive. You really ought to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Great casserole! Water chestnuts add a delightful crunch. Very healthy, tasty, and easy to make. Shared some with my next-door neighbors and they and their kids loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
I made this calico squash casserole for the first time on Easter Sunday. It was a big hit. Everyone loved it even most of the grandkids. I was asked by a few family members for the recipe. Now it will become a favorite at family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHYLLIS ADAMS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This was wonderful! I had guests this weekends and served this. Even the 18yr old loved it and went back for thirds. I didn't have waterchesnuts, so omitted them. I also put some dill and tumeric in, and added about 1/2 cup fat free sour cream. The soup was 98% ft free, and the maynaise was aslo low fat, and it still wwas a winner. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Oh Superb! Used Ritz crackers and didn't have any chesnuts or pimento peppers, but was still outstanding!! My family was sooo impressed..they were all licking there plates clean! A sure keeper! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
My husband loved this casserole! Even more than the chicken I made and says its a keeper! I didn't put as much carrots as requested, but it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
My taste buds are still dancing!!!! This dish was fantastic even though I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I couldn't put the carrots in because I'm allergic, didn't have water chestnuts, didn't have pimento, so I subbed with a small can of green chilies. I threw in some garlic and onions powders along with a little cayenne for a bit of a kick. The Ritz cheese crackers I had seemed to work well. In lieu of cheddar I used grated parm. Even without the suggested ingredients, this recipe was superb. My youngest daughter didn't even bother with the hamburgers my hubby made. No leftovers! (darn) Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States