Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I have to say it was good. I loved the crunch of the buttery crackers and the creamy consistency of the dish. I didn't have water chestnuts, pimento's or carrots, so I just left them out. I did add chopped green olives to replace the pimento's and it added extra zing. . .but I think I will leave those out as well when I try this again. For those who are worried about the fat in this recipe, I used reduced fat club crackers, low fat mayo and reduced fat cream of mushroom soup and couldn't tell the difference in the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is colorful and yummy! I wasn't sure about the pimento but it works great with it. I would also think you could substitute roasted red peppers for the pimento. A very good squash recipe that doesn't taste like all those "squash casserole" type recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Delicious and something you can eat again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was pretty good. I made it for our holiday church potluck. I made it a few hours before, chilled it and then cooked it for 40 minutes. I didn't make any changes to the recipe itself. It got average reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I gave this recipe to my daughter , she shared it with ladys working at Southern Star. We all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Dang this was awsome.... after reading each review I modified the topping using cornflakes to the topping with a bit of butter to get a delicate but nice crunch to the topping... a must at any dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Used stove top dressing inside of crackers. Omitted the sage.Reduced butter by half. Used liquid from veggies to moisten the dressing. Used low fat cheese. I thought it was great. Next time I will try the crackers but frankly all the fat in the crackers and butter is a llittle scary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Like so many before me said.....it was awesome!! I will definately mke this again & again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I chose this recipe because it had so many 5 star reviews. I was looking forward to a great-tasting dish, but I have to say I was disappointed. I thought this was very average which surprises me because I almost always agree with the reviews. My husband wasn't impressed either. Won't make this again. Sorry Meli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreechrismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States