Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Sauteed instead of boiled, to keep all the vitamins and flavor. No green onions on hand, doubled zucchini, halved melted butter. Not sure if the pimentos added anything, so I may leave them out next time. Used reduced fat crackers, mayo and soup. Crunchy, creamy, cheesy, crispy - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I have to say it was good. I loved the crunch of the buttery crackers and the creamy consistency of the dish. I didn't have water chestnuts, pimento's or carrots, so I just left them out. I did add chopped green olives to replace the pimento's and it added extra zing. . .but I think I will leave those out as well when I try this again. For those who are worried about the fat in this recipe, I used reduced fat club crackers, low fat mayo and reduced fat cream of mushroom soup and couldn't tell the difference in the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is colorful and yummy! I wasn't sure about the pimento but it works great with it. I would also think you could substitute roasted red peppers for the pimento. A very good squash recipe that doesn't taste like all those "squash casserole" type recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Delicious and something you can eat again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was pretty good. I made it for our holiday church potluck. I made it a few hours before, chilled it and then cooked it for 40 minutes. I didn't make any changes to the recipe itself. It got average reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I gave this recipe to my daughter , she shared it with ladys working at Southern Star. We all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Dang this was awsome.... after reading each review I modified the topping using cornflakes to the topping with a bit of butter to get a delicate but nice crunch to the topping... a must at any dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Used stove top dressing inside of crackers. Omitted the sage.Reduced butter by half. Used liquid from veggies to moisten the dressing. Used low fat cheese. I thought it was great. Next time I will try the crackers but frankly all the fat in the crackers and butter is a llittle scary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Like so many before me said.....it was awesome!! I will definately mke this again & again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States