Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was good -- a little salty for my taste, so next time I will just cut back on the salt. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was excellent as is, no changes. Even my finicky kids who won't eat their veggies loved it...would definately make again!!! Thanks for a great side dish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brayden's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
A friend made this for a church potluck and it was incredible! She gave me the recipe, and she had photocopied it from p. 271 from either a book or a chapter called "Simple Sides." I found her copy in some paperwork and I was about to submit this recipe, but when I did a search, I found the same one, same submitter. It's listed under "Classic Comfort Food," and I have to agree! Thanks to everyone for your ideas to tweak the recipe. I'm looking forward to making it at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
wonderful casserole! I make it for christmas dinner every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I rated this 5 stars because I think it is an awesome recipe, but also because my friend's dad thought it was really good too (he is the head of the culinary dept at a college here)! I've made it two years in row for Thanksgiving and I didn't change a thing...VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennirie13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My family LOVED this dish. I am making it for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is a wonderful side dish. I used all the ingredients as listed and changed the cooking method only slightly. I sauteed the onion in a small amount of butter instead of boiling with the squash. I also used a peeler on the carrot to make long "ribbons" of carrot. I put the carrots in the strainer before draining the squash which seemed to cook the carrot just enough. My family loved this dish and the five of us almost ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I gave this 4 stars because I knew what the ingredients were (ie fat content)and made it anyway so I couldn't give it a 3 like I want to. My main complaint is how unhealty this is with the cheese, mushroom soup and mayo, butter and crackers. The flavor was good. The cheesy cracker topping delish. There was a definite zip and my 1 year old ate it all up. I just like to see a little more vegetable when I am eating vegetables! So I guess I would add more zukes if I were to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Really hearty and delicious recipe...perfect for the fall. My boyfriend really loved this dish. I used half the amout of sour cream called for, just because I don't like a "tangy" casserole taste. This casserole is really flexible, so if you don't have all of the ingredients, give it a try any way. I wouldn't sub out the ritz crackers, though, they really make this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States