Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I have to say even with all the great ratings I was skeptical but this dish is wonderful. I had no butter crackers so I used pretzels instead, just ran them through the food processor. Sliced the carrots instead of shredding and sauteed the squash and onion instead of boiling them. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
My husband loves this recipe! I omitted the pimentos, used one sleeve of Ritz, added minced garlic and green peppers and used Tonys instead of salt. Yuummmyyyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
best squash recipe on the planet!!! I've made it as written and with some minor substitutions based on what I had on hand and both ways came out excellent! I made this last night and used sour cream instead of mayo, I also used one sleeve of crushed ritz which did not make two cups (more like 1 1/2 give or take) so I made up the remaining 1/2 cup with equal amounts of panko and Parmesan cheese. I used 2 diced roasted red peppers in place of the pimentos as I happened to have a jar in the house. I also used chopped fresh sage and thyme which gave an awesome flavor. My final modification was to use less butter, I cut it down to 4 Tbls and that was plenty. Oh and be sure to use the water chestnuts as they make the dish. Try this dish you will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made this just last wk and my whole family ate it up.Love the ritz crackers in it..Love how the taste combined?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by te1307

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Great flavor, great combo of ingredients. I don't use the pimientos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is the best! Don't understand why others had problems... I used the mayo. Left out the chestnuts. Wanted to use the cream of chix but had only cream of brocc. which tasted great! Had a 4oz. jar of roasted red peppers and 1 carrott in it. Had fresh sage. Picked 2, 8" summers & 2, 7" zukes. Used a sleeve & a half of "Hi-Ho" crackers. Cooked w/ water maybe 15 minutes and baked in a glass 13x9x2" pan for 35 minutes. PERFECT! Great colors too! This will be my new summer "pot luck" party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was just ok. I thought it had too many crumbs and was a little too "soupy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Wow! Everyone loved this dish. I switched out the mayo for sour cream, but other than that, followed the recipe as written. It makes a beautiful dish (be sure to use the green tops on your onions). Don't overcook your squash/onion mix...and only heat in oven until hot through and through. You want the veggies to still have a bit of firmness. We forced ourselves not to clean out the dish, for the promise to have the rest of it for dinner tomorrow night! Yum! Thanks for posting such a great recipe that will be a frequent favorite around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Everything is great about this recipe...except for the water chestnuts. I usually love water chestnuts in Asian cuisine, but thought they felt out of place and gave the dish an odd flavor. I think adding more vegetables, perhaps even broccoli or more squash, would provide a fuller, more tasteful dish. I do have to mention that no one complained and everyone gobbled up the casserole, but I think I'm going to try it without water chestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
LOVED IT!! My husband and kids raved about it! I didn't use pimentos because I couldn't conceive what they may bring to the dish. Although I think I will use maybe 1/2 a cup of sweet red roasted peppers next time for color. Definitely use the water chestnuts..they make the texture perfect, sofy and crunchy. My family can't wait until I make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sclarkgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Debary, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States