Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Great flavor, great combo of ingredients. I don't use the pimientos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is the best! Don't understand why others had problems... I used the mayo. Left out the chestnuts. Wanted to use the cream of chix but had only cream of brocc. which tasted great! Had a 4oz. jar of roasted red peppers and 1 carrott in it. Had fresh sage. Picked 2, 8" summers & 2, 7" zukes. Used a sleeve & a half of "Hi-Ho" crackers. Cooked w/ water maybe 15 minutes and baked in a glass 13x9x2" pan for 35 minutes. PERFECT! Great colors too! This will be my new summer "pot luck" party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was just ok. I thought it had too many crumbs and was a little too "soupy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Wow! Everyone loved this dish. I switched out the mayo for sour cream, but other than that, followed the recipe as written. It makes a beautiful dish (be sure to use the green tops on your onions). Don't overcook your squash/onion mix...and only heat in oven until hot through and through. You want the veggies to still have a bit of firmness. We forced ourselves not to clean out the dish, for the promise to have the rest of it for dinner tomorrow night! Yum! Thanks for posting such a great recipe that will be a frequent favorite around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Everything is great about this recipe...except for the water chestnuts. I usually love water chestnuts in Asian cuisine, but thought they felt out of place and gave the dish an odd flavor. I think adding more vegetables, perhaps even broccoli or more squash, would provide a fuller, more tasteful dish. I do have to mention that no one complained and everyone gobbled up the casserole, but I think I'm going to try it without water chestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
LOVED IT!! My husband and kids raved about it! I didn't use pimentos because I couldn't conceive what they may bring to the dish. Although I think I will use maybe 1/2 a cup of sweet red roasted peppers next time for color. Definitely use the water chestnuts..they make the texture perfect, sofy and crunchy. My family can't wait until I make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Debary, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe! I substituted sour cream for the mayonnaise, and left out the pimentos. I also sliced the carrots instead of shredding them, and cooked them with the squash. Be sure to definitely drain the cooked squash very well. Not only was this really tasty, it was pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Musick (Granny)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I'm always looking for tastey vegetable recipes and this one fits the bill. My hubby and I loved it and it's on my menu for Thanksgiving and maybe Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gayleskornerkitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was too rich, plus I've had better squash casseroles at family holiday gatherings. Perhaps if there was a way to modify some of the ingredients & make it lighter, then maybe I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This recipe was ok, I found there to be too much water chestnuts and not enough squash and zucchini. Next time I would try it with half the amount of water chestnust and an extra cup each of squash and zucchini, and cut the mayo in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hazelton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States