Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was a good dish to start, but made me a little sick after a few bites. I misread/didn't understand the "buttery round crackers" and ended up buying oyster soup crackers. Once I found out that it was the wrong kind, I didn't crush them before putting everything together so that they would stay a little crunchy. They didn't come out amazing, but it wasn't bad either. I also used less mayonnaise, but it was still too much for me. The texture created by the mayo and the squash was so squishy that it made me sick. The flavor was OK but I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I have to say even with all the great ratings I was skeptical but this dish is wonderful. I had no butter crackers so I used pretzels instead, just ran them through the food processor. Sliced the carrots instead of shredding and sauteed the squash and onion instead of boiling them. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
My husband loves this recipe! I omitted the pimentos, used one sleeve of Ritz, added minced garlic and green peppers and used Tonys instead of salt. Yuummmyyyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
best squash recipe on the planet!!! I've made it as written and with some minor substitutions based on what I had on hand and both ways came out excellent! I made this last night and used sour cream instead of mayo, I also used one sleeve of crushed ritz which did not make two cups (more like 1 1/2 give or take) so I made up the remaining 1/2 cup with equal amounts of panko and Parmesan cheese. I used 2 diced roasted red peppers in place of the pimentos as I happened to have a jar in the house. I also used chopped fresh sage and thyme which gave an awesome flavor. My final modification was to use less butter, I cut it down to 4 Tbls and that was plenty. Oh and be sure to use the water chestnuts as they make the dish. Try this dish you will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made this just last wk and my whole family ate it up.Love the ritz crackers in it..Love how the taste combined?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by te1307

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Great flavor, great combo of ingredients. I don't use the pimientos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is the best! Don't understand why others had problems... I used the mayo. Left out the chestnuts. Wanted to use the cream of chix but had only cream of brocc. which tasted great! Had a 4oz. jar of roasted red peppers and 1 carrott in it. Had fresh sage. Picked 2, 8" summers & 2, 7" zukes. Used a sleeve & a half of "Hi-Ho" crackers. Cooked w/ water maybe 15 minutes and baked in a glass 13x9x2" pan for 35 minutes. PERFECT! Great colors too! This will be my new summer "pot luck" party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was just ok. I thought it had too many crumbs and was a little too "soupy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Wow! Everyone loved this dish. I switched out the mayo for sour cream, but other than that, followed the recipe as written. It makes a beautiful dish (be sure to use the green tops on your onions). Don't overcook your squash/onion mix...and only heat in oven until hot through and through. You want the veggies to still have a bit of firmness. We forced ourselves not to clean out the dish, for the promise to have the rest of it for dinner tomorrow night! Yum! Thanks for posting such a great recipe that will be a frequent favorite around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Everything is great about this recipe...except for the water chestnuts. I usually love water chestnuts in Asian cuisine, but thought they felt out of place and gave the dish an odd flavor. I think adding more vegetables, perhaps even broccoli or more squash, would provide a fuller, more tasteful dish. I do have to mention that no one complained and everyone gobbled up the casserole, but I think I'm going to try it without water chestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States