Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Thanks so much for this recipe! My family loved it! I used last years yellow and zucchini squash that I had sliced and frozen! Getting ready for this years crop! I let the squash thaw in the collander and squeezed the water out before I used some other readers recommendations and cooked the squash and onions in olive oil instead of water. I did not have water chestnuts or cream of mushroom so I used cream of chicken and it was still great! The cheese I had was cheddar and monterey jack! I also only had the mayonaise wiith olive oil and black pepper. This is a very versitile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very, very good... will definitely make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDYANDY6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Looks like the zucchini bake that my MIL made for our annual family Pre-Christmas party, minus the onions. It was fantastic! I will definitely be making this myself for the family. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffyangel4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Really enjoyed this dish! I did add a diced turkey kielbasa sausage for my carnivore family. :) The sausage, cheese, and crackers added a really nice flavor for the non-veggie fans in the family. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARANICOLE154

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is the best! I have been making this for several years and always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My new favorite squash casserole recipe! With a few small modifications, this is a 5 star recipe. On the suggestions of previous reviewers I eliminated the pimentos and increased the amount of squash. I sauteed the veggies rather than boiling them in water, and then put them in a colander lined with paper towels to let them drain really well for a couple of hours. I subbed out low-fat sour cream for mayo. For the topping, I used light butter and used reduced fat cheddar cheese. It turned out awesome! My boyfriend and I ate the entire pan of this over the course of 3 days, and still would happily have eaten more! I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
ive made this a few times and loved it! i only changed a few things... i left out the pimento peppers(not a fan), i used 2 cans of water chestnuts(i love the crunch), and i added extra squash, and made sure that the zucchini was the same amount as the squash. also, i use about 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic(lovvvve garlic) and added garlic salt instead of regular salt, i also add about a teaspoon of fresh ground peppercorn instead of white. i added about 1 1/2 cup shredded colby jack(dont like cheddar unless in cheesey potatoes), and i used 4 tablespoons of butter and a quarter cup of mayo. thats just way too much in my opinion, especially the mayo. i agree with a few comments that its too crumby, so i only make half the crumb mixture and put it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimcest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was just okay in my book. Maybe if you add more squash to it, it would be better. Too much sauce for my taste, and not enough veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Yummy! Thanks for sharing! My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Loved this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States