Calico Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I've been making vinegar slaw for years, so this one isn't new to me, but I do like it. The colorful veggies really make a very nice presentation, and the apples give you a little pop of sweetness. I didn't think there was enough dressing, so I did double it and used Splenda instead of sugar. Nice side dish to start the new year when many of us are focusing on eating lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
good but I liked it better when I added a half cup of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
We loved this recipe! It made a huge bowl but the two of us made it through most of the bowl with brats as a main dish. I have very few leftovers. I used store shredded slaw and used 4 T cider and 3 T sugar since the mixture needed more liquid. This is a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing! It looks so good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
healthy and delicious! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a tough recipe for me to rate objectively. While I don't LOVE IT, as 5 stars would indicate, I DO love how nutrient dense it is for a low calorie return. Add to that the fact Mr. LTH said he "liked the slaw" and he HATES vinegar and it'll definately get repeat action at the LTH house. I did double the vinegar, but leave the sugar the same, as I wasn't sure 2T would coat. I messed up and bought broccoli slaw mix instead of the bagged cabbage and it worked out well. I think next time I'll sub a Granny Smith for the Golden Delicious. THANKS for such a good for us recipe, sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
After reading the reviews, I doubled the dressing and it was great. Next time I will try a sugar substitute to decrease the calories a bit. Also, I used 1/2 head of red cabbage. I loved the colorful presentation. I will be bringing this to all my summer barbecue parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
We loved it--the simple dressing combined with the sweetness of the apples was delicious. I forgot to buy a green pepper, so I used red and yellow, and added some extra color with some chopped chives. This is fantastic with barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Although this slaw is packed with nutrients it lacked in dressing. I had to double the dressing with a little less sugar. If you want to impress company this colorful slaw will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States