Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These are fantastic. I don't know anyone who can eat only one helping...very addicting. I prefer to make mine in the crockpot so they don't burn. The texture seems to be better as well this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This turned out very well. I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I think I might substitute drained black beans for the butter beans for a more interesting color contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Lafargue

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Farmington, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great flavor!! I would use Barbecue sauce instead of ketchup for a bit more "perk"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was much too sweet for my family's liking. The catsup is already sweetened ao a cup of brown sugar is too much. I think 1/2 cup would have been better. Also, the bacon is a nice addition but if I make this again I will fry it first then brown the beef in the bacon drippings and add the crumbled bacon to the dish just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
good stuff!! if you like the sweet/salty combination you will love this. I just used 1 can of kidney, 1 can butter and 1 can of pork n' beans and there was plenty of beans in it - no need for soo many beans! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Delicious! I used less sugar and malt vinegar because I didn't have white wine vinegar. No celery & I only had hormel bacon pieces. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
use only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, decrease vinegar to 2 tbs, skip celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boiling Springs, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
these were such a hit on a big group camping trip. Have made them again and they get great comments each time. I can't decide whethere to share the recipe or keep it as my secret! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I made this recipe exactly, and thought it was just ok. This is something that I would probably only make twice a year. I probably won't use celery next time. I might just use less brown sugar next time too because it was very sweet. My boyfriend said it tasted like pork and beans with meat. My other friend who ate it put sour cream in it, my guess was because it was so sweet, but I'm not for sure. I didn't ask him what that tasted like though. I'm usually a big eater, but I was only able to eat one bowl of this, and not even a full bowl. We did eat all that I had made though. I'll try it again sometime with a couple changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Renee Stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Excellent recipe. I loved it and I don't even like "regular" baked beans. I will make this often for picnics or large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States