Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this for a large group of friends over the weekend. Everyone loved it! I made it in the crockpot, as suggested. I couldn't find the butter beans I purchased,(the boy child helped unload the groceries) and I left out the celery and onion intentionally because so many people don't care for them. This is my new favorite side to my BBQ meals. I will, however, make it next time with the butter beans. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great flavor!! I would use Barbecue sauce instead of ketchup for a bit more "perk"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
these were such a hit on a big group camping trip. Have made them again and they get great comments each time. I can't decide whethere to share the recipe or keep it as my secret! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made this over the weekend and it turned out really well. As per other's suggestions, I subbed black beans for the lima beans. I also added chili powder and Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning to give it a little heat. Without the heat I think the recipe would have been too sweet for us. I cooked it on low in the crock pot all day. Easy and good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
A bit on the sweet side but I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
this is a great recipe...i did modify it somewhat though...i doubled most of the ingredients, slow cooked it in a crock pot, added hot sauce, used black beans instead of lima beans and added a little seasoning salt and cayenne pepper. I also added two cans of diced tomatos. Its great if you life spicy foods. To make it even tastier, sprinkle shredded cheddar cheese or lay a slice of pepperjack cheese on top of the chili when you put it in a bowl to eat. I also used the sweet corn bread recipe on this site to go with it. My friends, roommate and family beg me to make this recipe constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I loved these beans! I made them as a side dish for an Easter get together. I left out the ground beef and used bacon bits. Thay turned out great. I cooked them at 275 degrees for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I love this recipe. My grandma makes it a lot and I got it from here once and it is almost exactly like this one except no celery. What I like to do though is not include the bacon and the ground beef and use ground turkey instead. In my opinion ALL The flavor comes from the beans, ketchup, spices, and sugar. You usually can't even tell the bacon is there and the meat is just a textural element, so might as well make it significantly helping there by getting rid of those two things. It also makes it easier to make if you leave out the bacon since you don't have to mess with it. I just brown the turkey and dump everything in the crockpot, it can cook all day. In fact I like it better after it HAS cooked all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Delicious! I used less sugar and malt vinegar because I didn't have white wine vinegar. No celery & I only had hormel bacon pieces. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. I made them for a Western style party, about 100 people. Everyone raved over them. I sent the recipe to so many people. Thanks for sharing it with us. I will definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Sandersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States