Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I get requests for this all the time. Great for a bbq side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I love this recipe. I followed the recipe to the tee everytime and it turns out perfect. This is one of my family favorites. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was much too sweet for my family's liking. The catsup is already sweetened ao a cup of brown sugar is too much. I think 1/2 cup would have been better. Also, the bacon is a nice addition but if I make this again I will fry it first then brown the beef in the bacon drippings and add the crumbled bacon to the dish just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Made this for the 4th of July! So far today (the next day), I have had 3 people email me for the recipe! It is great! I used a combo of butter beans, great northern beans, pork and beans and light kidney beans. Next time I would probably use black beans instead of the butter beans for a little more visual contrast. I also added a little splash of liquid smoke to give them a more smokey taste. I cooked them uncovered and really enjoyed the "crust" that formed on top. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this for a large group of friends over the weekend. Everyone loved it! I made it in the crockpot, as suggested. I couldn't find the butter beans I purchased,(the boy child helped unload the groceries) and I left out the celery and onion intentionally because so many people don't care for them. This is my new favorite side to my BBQ meals. I will, however, make it next time with the butter beans. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great flavor!! I would use Barbecue sauce instead of ketchup for a bit more "perk"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
these were such a hit on a big group camping trip. Have made them again and they get great comments each time. I can't decide whethere to share the recipe or keep it as my secret! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made this over the weekend and it turned out really well. As per other's suggestions, I subbed black beans for the lima beans. I also added chili powder and Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning to give it a little heat. Without the heat I think the recipe would have been too sweet for us. I cooked it on low in the crock pot all day. Easy and good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
A bit on the sweet side but I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
this is a great recipe...i did modify it somewhat though...i doubled most of the ingredients, slow cooked it in a crock pot, added hot sauce, used black beans instead of lima beans and added a little seasoning salt and cayenne pepper. I also added two cans of diced tomatos. Its great if you life spicy foods. To make it even tastier, sprinkle shredded cheddar cheese or lay a slice of pepperjack cheese on top of the chili when you put it in a bowl to eat. I also used the sweet corn bread recipe on this site to go with it. My friends, roommate and family beg me to make this recipe constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States