Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe is identical to my grandma's recipe that I have been eating for over 25 years (minus the celery). Very good. I make this for all the yard parties I have in the summer and always get asked for the recipe. You can use most any combination of beans when making it, not just the ones listed. If you use kidney beans make sure to drain and rinse them. I have made them in the oven, on the grill, a crock pot, and even my smoker and they turn out great no matter how you cook them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKMONSTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ree Heights, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Stratford, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
By far the best bean recipe my husband has ever had!! Still raving about them and begging me to make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is excellent. I actually made some changes due to personal preference, but 5 stars to this one. Instead of lima beans, I use great northern beans. I added a can of pinto beans, as well. The only other change I made was I omitted the celery and sauteed the onion in the bacon/beef grease. Again, personal preference. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Loved it! This recipe seems universally popular for potlucks, etc. I love it because it's so easy to make. It can be a little sweet, but you can always adjust the sugar as you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaelene Conley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This has always been a favorite of mine! I did change a few ingrediants, though. We are trying to reduce our cholesterol, so I used ground chicken instead beef. It was delicious and barely changed the taste. Next time I will try turkey bacon instead of pork. I also added 2 Tbsp. of Molasses and 1 cup of ketchup. I accidentally opened black beans instead of kidney beens. I think any combination of beans work, but don't ever leave out the butter beans! Everyone who had a serving enjoyed thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry CAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My mom used to make this when I was a child, only her recipe was labeled "One Pot Dinner". This is a phenomenal dish for those winter months. I do believe that the 2 cups of brown sugar are bit much, and use half of that and it's plenty sweet enough. Mom always added just a wee bit of liquid smoke to it, and I find it so much better that way. I suppose you could substitute your favorite bbq sauce for the ketchup for the same effect. I make it in the crockpot, on low for 4 hours or so; it's a HUGE hit at potluck suppers or barbecues :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tena Hawkes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Good beans! Great taste, easy to throw together and very inexpensive. I made a few minor changes based on what I had on hand and personal taste. First of all, I cooked the bacon alone untill it was browned, then I added the onion and ground beef. I know from past experience that cooking the bacon with the ground beef makes for bacon that is too underdone for our taste.We like it very done. Next, I did not have kidney beans or butter beans, so I used black beans and pinto beans instead. (I think almost any bean combo would work.) I also cut the amount of brown sugar in half and am glad I did as it was plenty sweet for our taste with 1/2 C. Next, I didn't have mustard powder so I used 1T yellow mustard,also had no white wine vinegar so I used plain white vinegar, omited the celery and added a little liquid smoke to the mix aprox 1-2t. I do not own a 4 quart casserole, so I just simmered it on the stove for aprox 1 1/2 hrs. I served this with sweet corn bread and we had a very tasty meal! I will definitely make this again and again. My picky husband even gave it the thumbs up! Thanks Kathy! Note..I give this recipe 5 stars only after cutting back on the brown sugar, I personaly think that 1 C would have been way too sweet. I would advise adding only 1/2 C, then taste before adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I only gave 4 stars because I made adjustments to the recipe. I only used half the amount of brown sugar and it was still a tad sweet for my taste, but the vinegar helped to cut it. I also used red wine vinegar because I didn't have any white wine vinegar. I used ground turkey and let is simmer for 1 1/2 hours on the stove instead of putting it in the over. This created more juices so I served it over brown rice and it was a hit. Not the prettiest dish in the world, but tasty none the less. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was good - but I did have to make quite a few changes. I used a 1/2 lb. of bacon - so not sure if that equals to a 1/2 cup or not. I also added an additional can of pork and beans. I reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, reduced the vinegar to 2 tablespoons (and used apple cider vinegar), increased the mustard powder to 1/2 tablespoon and added a teaspoon of salt. I omitted the celery. I sautéed the bacon for a bit on it's own first and then added the ground beef and onion. I mixed up the sauce in a separate bowl. Then, I added everything to a 13 x 9 x 2" baking dish and combined it. Covered it and baked for an hour as stated. Making it this way, I LOVED it! Thanks for sharing something I could build off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I had this the first time on the 4th of July at a friends. I was immediately addicted to this dish. I used pinto, baked, black and butter beans.I noticed that some people said that could not find the lima or butter beans. In my store they are not with the kidney and baked beans but near the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LETITIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States