Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My sister inlaw said i should try making these. I've never had them before. I must say i loved them!!! Gonna make more for my family today. They didn't last long and i didn't get my fill of them. Very good recipe and ty for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Delicios when served with buttermilk cornbread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Awesome! My husband swears this tastes just like his grandmother's cherished family recipe. I have also made this with a mixed variety of beans, always with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
For this recipe there is never a spoonful left. I have used different combinations of beans, usually what I have on hand and it always seems to come out great. This has never failed as a passing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan Center, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made a double batch in a crockpot for a family party-it was a great hit! To keep it vegetarian, I omitted the pork&beans, hamburger and bacon and added black beans and 2 tsp liquid smoke. I also cut down the brown sugar by 25% due to reviews that said it was too sweet. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe is identical to my grandma's recipe that I have been eating for over 25 years (minus the celery). Very good. I make this for all the yard parties I have in the summer and always get asked for the recipe. You can use most any combination of beans when making it, not just the ones listed. If you use kidney beans make sure to drain and rinse them. I have made them in the oven, on the grill, a crock pot, and even my smoker and they turn out great no matter how you cook them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKMONSTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ree Heights, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Stratford, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
By far the best bean recipe my husband has ever had!! Still raving about them and begging me to make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is excellent. I actually made some changes due to personal preference, but 5 stars to this one. Instead of lima beans, I use great northern beans. I added a can of pinto beans, as well. The only other change I made was I omitted the celery and sauteed the onion in the bacon/beef grease. Again, personal preference. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Loved it! This recipe seems universally popular for potlucks, etc. I love it because it's so easy to make. It can be a little sweet, but you can always adjust the sugar as you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This has always been a favorite of mine! I did change a few ingrediants, though. We are trying to reduce our cholesterol, so I used ground chicken instead beef. It was delicious and barely changed the taste. Next time I will try turkey bacon instead of pork. I also added 2 Tbsp. of Molasses and 1 cup of ketchup. I accidentally opened black beans instead of kidney beens. I think any combination of beans work, but don't ever leave out the butter beans! Everyone who had a serving enjoyed thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry CAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States