Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Fantastic. I don't use any onions, and I've used different beans, and it is always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Due to popular demand, I make these beans for both Easter (they go great with ham, deviled eggs, and potato salad) and my family reunion every year. The only thing I do differently is cut the brown sugar by about half. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
brought to pot luck and brought none home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Took this to a July 4th potluck. Very good! I did not have lima beans so used black bean instead. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great basic recipe. I agree with others that you only need to use half the amount of sugar. Very easy to play around with by changing the types of beans and meat. I used seasoned sausage, white vinegar and added in some extra baked beans and chili beans to fill a crock pot for a family reunion. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Addicting! We reduced the sugar and added a bit more smoke flavor and upped the vinegar just a bit for more zing. Get's rave reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
A budget-friendly family favorite. However, I do make it a wee bit more economical by starting with dry beans, and cooking them in water with a ham bone from our last ham dinner. Once the beans are cooked, I remove the bone and let it cool. In the mean time, I place the beans in my crock pot with all of the standard ingredients, sometimes going lighter on the ground beef and bacon. Once the ham bone cools, I remove any usable meat from the bone and put it in with the beans. Let it cook for several hours on low. The dry beans don't have the additives that canned beans have, so its a bit healthier, and I usually get enough tasty meat from a ham bone that the family doesn't notice that I used less bacon and hamburger. A win for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Really great basic recipe you tweak to your liking. I usually omit the butter beans (hate them) and double up on the kidney beans. It's a bit sweet made as written so I also cut back on the sugar. Really good if you add some garlic powder and a bit of paprika too. My 22 month old loves it with steamed rice. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was good. I had to use red wine vinegar as that is all I had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I give this 5 stars because it's a quick dish for parties and everyone likes it. It's full of fiber fiber fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States