Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This recipe was good and easy. I used a package of the pre-cooked bacon instead of cooking it with my ground beef. After ground beef was cooked, I put it all in a crockpot and let it cook for a couple of hours. I wouldn't see any reason why it couldn't cook all day either. I might try cutting back a tad on the brown sugar because it was a little sweet, still very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This was a good recipe and the kids really liked it. It was a nice improvement to baked beans, and it turned out quite colorful. Never thought I'd eat a lima bean, but I got the baby ones and they tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
SWEET! Next time I'll cut the sugar down some. They are still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
My mother always made this and I lost the recipe. I'm so glad I found it again. What a crowdpleaser for cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This is such a crowd pleaser. My stand-by for pot lucks at work. I mix it all together in a crockpot. Bring it to work and turn it on. By lunch, it is perfect and never any left!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Love this-it's great for a one-pot dinner too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This is the BEST recipe I have found for this casserole. I have 6 children ages 11-1 and they loved it! My husband who doesn't even eat beans, LOVED this recipe!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This recipie is the BOSS. It has an sweet and tangy flavor. Gasous to the Maximous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I had been given this recipe in 1986, by a friend in Connecticut, and lost touch with her and lost the recipe!!! I am excited to make this again and share it with others. thanks! joy lynne1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. My husband just loves it! The sugar and vinegar give it both a sweet and tart flavor. It is also very inexpensvie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States