Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I found this recipe in an attempt to replace a misplaced family favorite we called "Carnival Beans." This one was very close to our recipe and only required a few changes to fit the taste we remember. I omitted the bacon, beef and celery. I increased the dried mustard to one tablespoon. I swapped the small can of pork-n-beans for a large can of vegetarian baked beans. Not that it makes much of a difference, but I used apple cider vingear instead of white. I also added one small can of chili beans. Everyone was pleased with the outcome! Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyMBK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
This was one of my favorite dishes to eat as a kid, but I hadn't had it in years and years until I tried this recipe. What a nostalgic trip for my tastebuds! My mom would take calico beans to picnics and potlucks and now I do, too. I don't always add the ground meat (I use turkey when I do) or the bacon in case my vegetarian friends are joining us or if I am serving the beans on the side. I also add roughly 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and 1/4ish tsp of celery salt if I don't have fresh celery on hand. Otherwise, I make it as is and enjoy it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Great beans! My family loved them... can't wait to take these to picnics and reunions this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
OH MY! Everyone in the family LOVED these beans. I made a double batch for Christmas Day and they were gone the next day. It can be a meal be itself. I precooked the bacon and ground beef the night before, so in the morning it put everything in the crockpot and let it cook for three hours, then put it on low for the rest of the day. They ate them all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Nice twist on baked beans. I've had lots of compliments on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This was really good. I took the advice of a couple of the other reviews and cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 cup. Everyone loved it and had a second helping. Will most definitely make this one again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbrinkley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
You can't go wrong! Use whatever kind of beans that you have in the pantry. It turns out great everytime! Freeze the leftovers as it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This recipe is very good. It was a little sweet the first time I made it so I used 1 cup ketchup and 1/2 cup brown sugar the next time I made it. My husband really enjoyed it and he doesn't really care for beans. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYMEPOOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Staffordsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Best beans I've ever eaten. Just followed the recipe exactly and didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Pipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
This was great. I would leave the bacon out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States