Calico Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Good, but next time use less ham & use vegetable broth instead of water, or combined with some water. Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I was looking for a quick, tasty and hearty soup for a cold winters day. This is it. I find it. It is very easy to prepare and yummy. I added rice to my mixture and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was good and simple. I threw mine in the crock pot with some fresh garlic, bay leave and a tbls of chili powder and some chicken kilbasa. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I changed this recipe to fit into the large crockpot that I have. I used 1 cup of all the beans and peas. I used 2 chicken bouillon cubes, and used 1 tea. of celery seeds. I used turkey ham, and 1/4 cup of dehydrated carrots. I added to this recipe 1/2 tea. dried thyme, 3/4 tea. garlic powder, and 1/4 tea. cumin. Then I just let the crock pot do it's thing! My husband said that this was great and to make it again soon, and he is not a soup person at all. I have put all the beans and peas together, and want to jar some of this up to give as a gift. I will just have to add the turkey ham, and the seasonings. That's why I tried it with all the dry ingredients to see if it would work out, and sure enough it did. Just love this soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I used 10 Bean bulk from Sprouts. Yummy! I put it in the crockpot and let it cook all day. I didn't put the carrots and celery in until about 6 hours til the end (after it was cooking for 4 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sneedseats
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Cut the time in less than half by using a meat-grinder or food processor to crack all the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too bland for me. I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper, thyme and garlic and then a medium sized can of tomato paste---- delicious. Also precook the ham hocks 1 hr before adding to get tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Looks much better than it tastes. Its a great starting point though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I can never find yellow split peas so I substitute the green. I also substitute other beans I may have on hand, such as black or navy beans. I keep a large container of the mix in my pantry to toss in the crockpot. This recipe is so good and easy, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States