Calico Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe is really nice as a gift and requires only a few "fresh" ingrediants later. The flavor is super too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I made this last Christmas for gifts Had rave reviews about it. took a year to find it again. Now have a recipe box. Can't go wrong with this recipe. Wonderful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I can never find yellow split peas so I substitute the green. I also substitute other beans I may have on hand, such as black or navy beans. I keep a large container of the mix in my pantry to toss in the crockpot. This recipe is so good and easy, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sneedseats
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Cut the time in less than half by using a meat-grinder or food processor to crack all the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I used 10 Bean bulk from Sprouts. Yummy! I put it in the crockpot and let it cook all day. I didn't put the carrots and celery in until about 6 hours til the end (after it was cooking for 4 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I changed this recipe to fit into the large crockpot that I have. I used 1 cup of all the beans and peas. I used 2 chicken bouillon cubes, and used 1 tea. of celery seeds. I used turkey ham, and 1/4 cup of dehydrated carrots. I added to this recipe 1/2 tea. dried thyme, 3/4 tea. garlic powder, and 1/4 tea. cumin. Then I just let the crock pot do it's thing! My husband said that this was great and to make it again soon, and he is not a soup person at all. I have put all the beans and peas together, and want to jar some of this up to give as a gift. I will just have to add the turkey ham, and the seasonings. That's why I tried it with all the dry ingredients to see if it would work out, and sure enough it did. Just love this soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Great soup, I made this mix in a jar for gifts. Good made in crockpot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This soup was delicious. I only had three kinds of beans and used a ham bone. Since I was making it immediately I used a real onion and skipped the cumin. It was very good and I am anxious to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This soup is really really good. I followed the recipe according to what was in my pantry. I didn't have any carrots and used fresh onions. I used a bag of mixed beans. I didn't have ham hocks, but I had the bony part of a spiral cut semi-boneless ham in the freezer. When I put the beans on to boil, I went ahead and put the ham bones in the crockpot with water on low. After the beans boiled and cooled, I added them to the crockpot with onions and celery. Then, I put it in the fridge overnight. Next morning, it was easy to skim the fat before I turned on the crockpot. After I got home from work, I pulled out the bones and chopped the meat. It smelled and tasted out of this world. Three of us ate over half of it, I can't wait for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States