Calico Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I made this last Christmas for gifts Had rave reviews about it. took a year to find it again. Now have a recipe box. Can't go wrong with this recipe. Wonderful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This soup is really really good. I followed the recipe according to what was in my pantry. I didn't have any carrots and used fresh onions. I used a bag of mixed beans. I didn't have ham hocks, but I had the bony part of a spiral cut semi-boneless ham in the freezer. When I put the beans on to boil, I went ahead and put the ham bones in the crockpot with water on low. After the beans boiled and cooled, I added them to the crockpot with onions and celery. Then, I put it in the fridge overnight. Next morning, it was easy to skim the fat before I turned on the crockpot. After I got home from work, I pulled out the bones and chopped the meat. It smelled and tasted out of this world. Three of us ate over half of it, I can't wait for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too bland for me. I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper, thyme and garlic and then a medium sized can of tomato paste---- delicious. Also precook the ham hocks 1 hr before adding to get tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Looks much better than it tastes. Its a great starting point though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This soup was delicious. I only had three kinds of beans and used a ham bone. Since I was making it immediately I used a real onion and skipped the cumin. It was very good and I am anxious to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe is really nice as a gift and requires only a few "fresh" ingrediants later. The flavor is super too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Great soup, I made this mix in a jar for gifts. Good made in crockpot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I can never find yellow split peas so I substitute the green. I also substitute other beans I may have on hand, such as black or navy beans. I keep a large container of the mix in my pantry to toss in the crockpot. This recipe is so good and easy, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sneedseats
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Cut the time in less than half by using a meat-grinder or food processor to crack all the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States