Calico Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I made this last Christmas for gifts Had rave reviews about it. took a year to find it again. Now have a recipe box. Can't go wrong with this recipe. Wonderful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe is really nice as a gift and requires only a few "fresh" ingrediants later. The flavor is super too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Great soup, I made this mix in a jar for gifts. Good made in crockpot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This soup was delicious. I only had three kinds of beans and used a ham bone. Since I was making it immediately I used a real onion and skipped the cumin. It was very good and I am anxious to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This soup is really really good. I followed the recipe according to what was in my pantry. I didn't have any carrots and used fresh onions. I used a bag of mixed beans. I didn't have ham hocks, but I had the bony part of a spiral cut semi-boneless ham in the freezer. When I put the beans on to boil, I went ahead and put the ham bones in the crockpot with water on low. After the beans boiled and cooled, I added them to the crockpot with onions and celery. Then, I put it in the fridge overnight. Next morning, it was easy to skim the fat before I turned on the crockpot. After I got home from work, I pulled out the bones and chopped the meat. It smelled and tasted out of this world. Three of us ate over half of it, I can't wait for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I can never find yellow split peas so I substitute the green. I also substitute other beans I may have on hand, such as black or navy beans. I keep a large container of the mix in my pantry to toss in the crockpot. This recipe is so good and easy, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Looks much better than it tastes. Its a great starting point though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too bland for me. I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper, thyme and garlic and then a medium sized can of tomato paste---- delicious. Also precook the ham hocks 1 hr before adding to get tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sneedseats
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Cut the time in less than half by using a meat-grinder or food processor to crack all the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States