Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This is an excellent main dish. In my opinion, it is not a side dish as I saw someone else thought it should be used for. But, I do make it a bit different and don't know if it's better because of the changes. I fry the bacon seperate from the ground beef and cook it until crisp, but not burnt. Then I brown the ground beef. It will take longer then cooking them together, but recipe is very good when the bacon is cooked crisp. I also mix the brown sugar (1 C) with the ketchup to form a sauce. I then mix all the ingredients. I also do not use mustard or vinegar and it is always a huge hit! I saw some commented that they disliked the butter beans. Although I like the butter beans I always try to find baby butter beans since there not so big. Really much better in this dish then regular butter beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Ann
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Wow, awesome recipe. I made this for a BBQ I went to and everyone wanted the recipe. I used 2 cans of baked beans in chile sauce which I did not drain. I drained the two other cans of beans, one was kidney, one was pinto. I used a pound of bacon, fried it crisp and crumbled it into the beans when everything was mixed. In the bacon grease, I sauteed 1/2 cup onion, 1/2 cup green pepper, and 1/2 cup red pepper. My family loved it and I am making it for the third time in two weeks. My older sons fought over who was taking the little bit of leftovers home. You have to try it!! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I have a very similar recipe that I have been making for years. It was given to me by a friend. It is the best potluck/barbeque recipe! Everyone loves it. I usually use this instead of traditional baked beans. It is a meal in itself. Very good in a crock pot too, however I still like to cook it mostly in the oven then finish in a crock pot for potlucks. The taste is better in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Great recipe, however you don't need to use nearly that much sugar. Also drain your kidney and butter beans slightly or you will have too much liquid. BBQ beans work great in place of baked beans with pork...something I can't find here in Africa. Make extra and freeze, you will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I have this recipe from a church cookbook that is really good, the only differance is to use only 1/2 c. brown sugar & instead of baked beans use a can of chili beans that will make a differance in the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe.... can also be made in a crock pot (cook approx 4-6 hours on high) instead of being baked. Provides a great aroma through-out the house all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
i also add to this recipe cut up red and green pepper and I use what ever beans I have in the cabinet. I have made it with ground turkey and turkey bacon before and it came out just as good. I have made this recipe for years for hunting camp and picnics and it always disappears even if people swear they don't like beans!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I only had 1/3 cup of brown sugar and I forgot to put in the mustard, but this dish still turned out very good. I drained my beans for a thicker consistency and served it as a main dish with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I printed this recipe up several years ago and finally got around to making it. It is delicious. I didn't change a thing. The kidney beans didn't cook up as well as the other beans but still quite tasty. This is the perfect dish to take to a gathering. Just be sure to serve with a slotted spoon as it is quite juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
Wonderful! I used navy beans instead of red beans. I will make this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States