Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Used BBQ sauce instead of ketchup and topped with shredded cheese and scallion on individual servings. Kids were in heaven. Great BBQ potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have making this casserole (or one very similar) for many years, and never tire of it! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight & we loved it! I left out the butter beans & used pork n beans instead of baked beans. And a little less brown sugar as my hubby doesn't like food that's very sweet, unless it's dessert...LOL. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've eaten variations of this dish countless times at barbeques, etc., but I'd never made it before. I had a bunch of people expected for a very informal, quick dinner and this seemed a good entree. I doubled the recipe and put in a full pound of bacon, cooked crisp and drained. I used kidney beans, great northern beans and canned baked beans. Lean ground beef. The vinegar and dry mustard were indispensable, in my opinion: they provide the tang. I added some chopped garlic to the chopped onions; garlic can play a wonderful starring role, but it also does amazing things in a supporting role. Didn't put much in. Also added a little ground cloves, not enough to recognize, just enough to add the deep complexity cloves has. I used white sugar and molasses as I was out of brown sugar, but only about 1/3 C. for the whole double batch. If I added 1 1/2 C. of sugar to this, I could have just sliced it, added a dollop of whipped cream and served it for dessert. Don't understand the taste for overwhelming sweetness in main dishes. Anyway, it was fantastic: meaty, thick, tangy and DELICIOUS! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've made this main dish for years. It makes an excellent "dish to pass" but be prepared because everyone will ask for the recipe. You can truly use any beans you like as long as you use some pork and beans. My original recipe came from my mother many, many years ago and used all pork and beans. I like to bake up a batch of Boston Brown Bread to serve on the side. Also works well in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Great recipe! There are several variations out there. It is a hearty meal all by itself and always goes over well with guys.. I use ground turkey, omit the ketchup, vinegar and sugar and add lots of spicy brown mustard and garlic to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been making this dish for years and it is always a hit wherever I bring it. It is one of those forgiving recipes...no ketchup? Add salsa? Don't like butter beans? Add black beans. As long as you keep the ratio close it is a winner. I have even left out the ground beef and added a pound of bacon and I like that best of all. Can easily put in a crock pot but I think comes out best when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I think it behooves people to act like ladies and gentleman. No matter how old we are, we must remember our manners. It is helpful, too, to actually try a recipe before judging. Otherwise, it makes one look like a nasty, inconsiderate oaf. This was a decent stew, quick to make and perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
If I use this recipe for the crockpot, I drain the beans. I don't drain if i am baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is a staple at all family gatherings. My version of the recipe calls for 1 tblsp liquid smoke. I always drain and rinse my beans to remove as much salt as possible. If your mixture is a little dry after rinsing the beans, add more ketchup and prepared mustard. We add Dijon. The flavor of this dish is even better the second day after the ingredients have been allowed to marry overnight. This is an easy casserole to prepare a day ahead and put into the fridge to bake the following day. Take your casserole out of the fridge 1/2 hour before baking so it comes up to room temp. Great as a topper on baked potatoes topped with shredded cheddar cheese. Kids like to add sliced hot dogs or Wranglers to make it a main dish for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States