Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This sounds so much like my Grandma made in the 1950's but she added drained lima beans and drained the kidney and butter beans. The baked beans was added. I put it in the crock pot the morning of our cook outs and that leaves me plenty of time to prepare for the guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love this recipe and have made it for years. My kids are not big bean fans but love this!! Awesome tailgating dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did make a couple of changes, simply because of what I thought I had in the pantry compared to what I actually had. Instead of pork/beans and butter beans I used a large can of baked beans. Because of the sauce already on the baked beans, I didn't use as much ketchup. I took another reviewer's advice and served it over cornbread. My husband, 3 year old daughter, and myself loved it! I can't wait to eat the leftovers! Next time I plan on trying it in the crockpot for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is my family's favorite baked bean dish. I always triple the recipe for picnics, and I never have leftovers. It is much better to bake in the oven, and also drain the beans, and then you can keep it in the crockpot to keep it warm. Found this in a church cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have been making this for ever, it is def a 5 star!! Great for potluck or BBQ's, rarely have leftovers!! I use 1 1/2# hamburger and 1# bacon, 2 lg cans of Bush beans, 2 cans each of kidney and butter, drained and rinsed, 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar and 2T molasses. Oh, don't forget the garlic. Adjust the proportions to meet your own taste. Yes is does have a lot of sugar but oh, so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royalton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe for MANY years and shared it with family members & friends. It's wonderful. We always have it at our family summer picnics! wilma b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have made this dish for years, but I've always called them "Cheater Beans." In place the of kidney beans (not a fan), I use pinto beans and Bush's Bourbon & Brown Sugar Grillin' Beans in place of the baked beans with pork. Instead of 1/2 cup of ketchup, I use 1/4 cup and another 1/4 cup of chile sauce with a dash of hot sauce for a little kick. I also use a pound of bacon and cook it separately from the ground beef and onion, to give it a crispness. Cooking it chopped with the beef/onions can make some of it burn and not cook uniformly. I cook the bacon in strips, then crumble into the rest of the mixture after it cools and drains a bit. And I use a whole sweet onion. This dish is wonderful for potlucks, BBQ's or just a simple, delicious mid-week meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Love this recipe and I am not usually a fan of beans! But this comes out a little sweeter with the brown sugar and types of beans. I didn't change a thing but I did double it and put it in the crock pot for a post football game celebration and there was none left...it was a huge hit. The first time I tried it was at a baseball party...it was used as a topping on hotdogs and hamburgers and the baseball dads loved it that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years, the only difference in the recipe I use is that it calls for chili sauce instead of ketcup...gives a little zip. Gets raves everytime, and there is seldom any leftovers. Adapts well to the Crockpot too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have been making this recips for years and it is a family favorite. As another reviewer suggested, I fry the bacon separately from the hamburger so it crisps and sweat the onion in the drippings. I use three cans of pork and beans in tomato sauce made by a company beginning with C who also makes soup. When my son visits from overseas, this is his requested homecoming meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States