Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious!! I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 a cup and it still was just a bit sweet for us. Either way, we both enjoyed it very much with cornbread. I made this as a meal, but it would be great as a side for a potluck. This will be a regular in our house! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3doxiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was really good with sweet cornbread. My family enjoyed, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Very tasty. I couldn't find baked beans with pork so used baked beans with maple syrup and bacon. I cut down the brown sugar to 1/4 cup as other reviewers suggested. I also used Hormel's 50% less fat bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
great recepie, just folowed it the best i could, but love bells peppers and onions in mine and bbq sauce. also some garlic, any beans i have work, kidney, baby butter beans, and pinto beans, baking worked better, that crock pot used 3% fat hamburger, drained after cooking, cooked bacon alone until crips, added a little vinegar, dry mustard, 2 tbs of brown, do not like my beans tasting like a sweet desert w/meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This sounds so much like my Grandma made in the 1950's but she added drained lima beans and drained the kidney and butter beans. The baked beans was added. I put it in the crock pot the morning of our cook outs and that leaves me plenty of time to prepare for the guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love this recipe and have made it for years. My kids are not big bean fans but love this!! Awesome tailgating dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did make a couple of changes, simply because of what I thought I had in the pantry compared to what I actually had. Instead of pork/beans and butter beans I used a large can of baked beans. Because of the sauce already on the baked beans, I didn't use as much ketchup. I took another reviewer's advice and served it over cornbread. My husband, 3 year old daughter, and myself loved it! I can't wait to eat the leftovers! Next time I plan on trying it in the crockpot for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is my family's favorite baked bean dish. I always triple the recipe for picnics, and I never have leftovers. It is much better to bake in the oven, and also drain the beans, and then you can keep it in the crockpot to keep it warm. Found this in a church cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have been making this for ever, it is def a 5 star!! Great for potluck or BBQ's, rarely have leftovers!! I use 1 1/2# hamburger and 1# bacon, 2 lg cans of Bush beans, 2 cans each of kidney and butter, drained and rinsed, 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar and 2T molasses. Oh, don't forget the garlic. Adjust the proportions to meet your own taste. Yes is does have a lot of sugar but oh, so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royalton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe for MANY years and shared it with family members & friends. It's wonderful. We always have it at our family summer picnics! wilma b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States