Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was a good recipe, but we'll probably half the sugar amount next time. It was a little too sweet, but maybe because of the ketchup were using?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I forgot the mustard, but it was still delicious. I used beans I had on hand, baked beans, kidney beans, and Great Northern beans instead of butter beans. Very delicious recipe, my kids all gobbled it up so there were no leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious!! I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 a cup and it still was just a bit sweet for us. Either way, we both enjoyed it very much with cornbread. I made this as a meal, but it would be great as a side for a potluck. This will be a regular in our house! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3doxiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was really good with sweet cornbread. My family enjoyed, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Very tasty. I couldn't find baked beans with pork so used baked beans with maple syrup and bacon. I cut down the brown sugar to 1/4 cup as other reviewers suggested. I also used Hormel's 50% less fat bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
great recepie, just folowed it the best i could, but love bells peppers and onions in mine and bbq sauce. also some garlic, any beans i have work, kidney, baby butter beans, and pinto beans, baking worked better, that crock pot used 3% fat hamburger, drained after cooking, cooked bacon alone until crips, added a little vinegar, dry mustard, 2 tbs of brown, do not like my beans tasting like a sweet desert w/meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This sounds so much like my Grandma made in the 1950's but she added drained lima beans and drained the kidney and butter beans. The baked beans was added. I put it in the crock pot the morning of our cook outs and that leaves me plenty of time to prepare for the guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love this recipe and have made it for years. My kids are not big bean fans but love this!! Awesome tailgating dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did make a couple of changes, simply because of what I thought I had in the pantry compared to what I actually had. Instead of pork/beans and butter beans I used a large can of baked beans. Because of the sauce already on the baked beans, I didn't use as much ketchup. I took another reviewer's advice and served it over cornbread. My husband, 3 year old daughter, and myself loved it! I can't wait to eat the leftovers! Next time I plan on trying it in the crockpot for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is my family's favorite baked bean dish. I always triple the recipe for picnics, and I never have leftovers. It is much better to bake in the oven, and also drain the beans, and then you can keep it in the crockpot to keep it warm. Found this in a church cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States