Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I triple the batch and add green pepper. Everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Shank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
A huge hit with my family!! Used BBQ sauce instead of ketchup because I was low on ketchup. A bit watery the first night but beans seemed to absorb the liquid by day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This ended up meeting my expectations perfectly. Nothing special, but it was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I have tried calico beans at a cookout before & loved them. This Independence Day I decided I'd make one after running across this recipe. I made it the night before as recipe stated but instead of baking in oven, I made stove top. Before I set it in fridge I tried it. It was good, but I felt as if it was missing something... I'm not sure what flavor could be missing and that is why I only rated a 4*. It's good, but not the best I've tried. I agree with others, it can be a meal in itself. It can even be served over rice or baked potato if you have leftovers.**REVISED**I learned the reason for the difference of taste is that I am used to a recipe that has 1/2 beef, 1/2 pork sausage meat blend. I did have people tell me they enjoyed this bean recipe. I will try the sausage/beef blend next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My husband and I love this casserole. I bring it to a lot of pot lucks and they all love it. I also like trying the way some of you have added to it and we enjoy it that way too. mariadenia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good, but really good the second day. Only changes - added a bit more bacon and fried it first as someone else mentioned. First day was a bit too soupy but after sitting overnight, is now perfect. Great find for me as I like to cook on weekends and have things ready to pull from fridge and heat during the busy weekday evenings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
A quick throw together kind of recipe, I like. While I made this 2 ways, to suit me using Johnsonville Sausages. It worked out in my favor. While both have distinct flavors because the seasonings in the sweet italian sausages, I noticed one stand out flavor above both variations....is that it has too much dry mustard powder in it, causing a slight twang, that was not so kosher with my husband. Reduce the mustard in this recipe to nearly half the recommended in this recipe and you will find it to be a whole lot tastier. I also loved the Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage in this better then the ground beef. The recipe in the 2nd batch had more sauce, even though I made them extactly the same with the directions. My kids loved both. Will make again with the adjustments to the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was pretty good, although for personal preference I think I'd cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup next time. I did not think there was enough volume to warrant a 9x13 dish, so I used a significantly smaller baking dish. I felt this could have used a little spice of some sort to offset the sweetness of the dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Dee Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Johnsonville recently challenged some of us to pick a favorite recipe and do a make-over utilizing one of their products. Although I have a family Calico Beans recipe I’ve been making for many years, I selected this one based not only on the number of reviews, but also the 4-1/2 star rating. No offense to the recipe author, but here’s how I changed her recipe. First, I substituted half of the ground beef with Johnsonville Mild Italian Ground Sausage which worked well. I cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 cup and next time would cut it back to 1/4 cup. We’re not big “sweet” eaters, so this is totally personal preference. I drained all cans of beans but reserved the liquid, and after combining everything, added some of the reserved liquid back to the pan, but not all. Finally, I used garlic salt instead of regular salt and baked for about 45 minutes. My family recipe calls for regular yellow mustard, but I will say that I liked the dry mustard MUCH better. Dee Dee, I’m sure your recipe is excellent because 173 people have tried it and given it high reviews. But this version turned out really well, too. Either way, I still LOVE Calico Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this dish vegetarian by using Soyrizo only. Also sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on top, and it was really delicious! Baked whole wheat tortilla and put the mixture and wrap it as you eat it, with sauteed spinach on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayoharper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States